We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real B&B experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 30 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“A real B&B experience”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Di and Ray are born hosts ,with a total commitment to their guests in their charming home.
We could not ask for a better place to stay and we would recommend them to any traveller who appreciates the importance of meeting genuine Kiwi hosts with the qualities of help and freindliness that epitomise yhe national character.

John& Anna

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
61
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Di and Ray have a fantastic B&B that I personally like to recommend to all who traveling the Whangarai area. The room Dianne (DI) assigned me was large, with a private bath, a bay window to the street. The room was definitely what I needed, quiet. The B&B is located just minutes from the center of town. Di and Raymond (Ray) where great hosts, and it was a pleasure exchanging stories, talk politics, or just understand a bit more about New Zealand Culture. The breakfast, a continental style, was composed of coffee, juices, toast, jelly (home made.....MMM) and cereal.
I would definitely stay here again. Next time in the summer.........Joe. Thanks for making me feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joemaak-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugarworks, Owner at Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for your review Joe, it is always nice to get great feedback from our guests. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, sorry about the weather and trust you had a good few days in Sydney. Di
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Di and Ray are the most welcoming host you can imagine. Staying in their beautiful and cosy house is a real treat, chatting with them is a delight and they were extremely helpful with advice for trips or restaurants. We had lovely days there, the kids also enjoyed it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Travelling is always fun but when you find a B&B with hosts like Di and Ray it is a bonus! We enjoyed their interest in us and how they focused on making our stay their priority. They have a welcoming home with pleasant surroundings and we had a comfortable room with an ensuite. Conversation was easy and we felt at home immediately. Breakfast was healthy and hearty and exactly what we liked. We would highly recommend a stay at Chelsea House for you can rest assured that you will receive the best hospitality. Ask about a 2 night stay for a great bottle of wine awaits your arrival. That was a nice touch and one we never received again on our trip anywhere.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the garden view and the lovely large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed two nights with Ray and Di which enabled us to do a long day trip to Russell and the Treaty Grounds before returning to Auckland.They were very kind and helpful to the extent of suggesting sharing a fish and chips supper with them when we arrived home late from our trip which we enjoyed very much. We found them both easy to chat with and were made to feel very much at home. The large double room with en suite shower room was comfortable and clean and excellent breakfasts were served.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesNZtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Our room was very clean, airy and light and the bed was very comfortable. Our hosts, Ray and Di, were exceptionally pleasant and thoughtful in every way, even allowing us to store our luggage for 5 days at Chelsea House. We enjoyed our conversations and the cooked breakfasts were very good.

Chelsea House is situated nicely and we walked to a trail nearby leading to a beautiful waterfall.

I highly recommend Chelsea House to anyone traveling to Whangarei. You won't be disappointed.

Pat B

Room Tip: If you want to unpack, request a room with a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Chelsea house is a very nice house with splendid rooms.
Hosts are adorable.
The only hicup is its vicinity to a road. If you are a light sleeper just bring ear plugs but don't miss Ray and Di's sweet hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos_R_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
0.1 mi away
B&B By the Park
B&B By the Park
#2 of 30 in Whangarei
46 reviews
8.0 mi away
Kauri Villas
Kauri Villas
#1 of 30 in Whangarei
132 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kauri Nest B&B
Kauri Nest B&B
#26 of 30 in Whangarei
19 reviews
2.1 mi away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
1.4 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 83 Hatea Drive | Regent, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a warm welcome when you arrive at our centrally located 100yr old villa with light airy decor and comfortable modern furnishings. Four Restaurants are within a 15minute easy walk and the Town Centre and Basin are a 3 minute drive. Beautiful bush walking tracks are on our doorstep. We have two guest bedrooms, 1 queen and 1 super-king with en-suite bathrooms. All our rooms have comfortable beds with quality linen and feather down blankets.Guests facilities include spacious lounge, Sky TV/DVD, free wireless internet, safe off street parking and a garden seating area. Enjoy unlimited tea and coffee, home baking and a delicious continental breakfast.Make Chelsea House your base to explore the North. You can do day trips to the famous Kauri Forest and swimming with the Dolphins at the Bay of Islands is only 60 minutes away. With our extensive knowledge of New Zealand we can help you with your holiday planning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing