We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chelsea House B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 30 Whangarei B&B and Inns
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Chelsea House B&B”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at the Chelsea House 0n the 9th, 10th and 11th January 2012 and were made to feel very welcome. The house is gorgeous, stylish and beautifully decorated. The room we stayed in was sumptuous with a very comfortable bed and elegant linen. Every where was meticulously clean and thoughtfully laid out for guests. The breakfasts were fresh, wholesome and tasty.
I was allowed to work on a computer made available and WIFI was provided. We could have stayed longer, but travels called!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
61
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed with Diane and Ray for one night and would have loved to stay longer. They truly make you feel at home, the atmosphere is welcoming and cozy, the house is a beauty. There's a nice and sunny garden, all facilities for a comfortable stay (coffee and tea, WLAN, TV-Room with DVDs) a splendid breakfast and great chats all along. The ensuite room was spacious and very nice decorated. It's located in a quiet area not far from the town center.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexKG_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Very personable hosts, both Diane and Ray. House itself is spotless with high ceilings and up to date ensuite bathroom. Good location near town centre - ideal for a good walk into town; but also easy to get out of town to visit the falls on the way north...Hosts are easy to talk to and can share tips for the area.. Interesting native fruit trees in the garden. Fun to talk NZ golf with Ray..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed here 2 weeks ago, and we loved the place. The hosts, Ray and Di, are very warm and friendly, and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable with them and with the other guests. The rooms are very nice, clean, and spacious. The location seemed close to the town center, though we only stayed in Whangarei for one night and headed out to Tutukaka the next morning. Overall, we would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bent76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Di did a great job of organizing a personal wine and golf tour of New Zealand for my wife and I. She arranged all the details, including accommodation, rental cars, tee times, wine tours and sight-seeing suggestions. Her detailed planning was impeccable. We also stayed at their B&B and had dinner with them on our last night. The B&B is very good, and the food was terrific. Overall, an excellent experience. We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, OHIO USA
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our two days at Chelsea House, and wished we had been able to stay longer. Our room was lovely and airy with beautiful furnishings. We appreciated the free Internet connection, the comfortable lounge, and especially Di's wonderful tips on special places to visit. Breakfast was a delight, and we found ourselves lingering due to the warm and lively conversation. Be sure to put Chelsea House on your must-stay list.
Carol and Larry Ohio USA

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolandLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed for one night and it was excellent. The room was large with attached ensuite. It was clean and well presented with books and magazines in the room if you wanted to read. The bed was very comfortable and there was also a guest lounge with magazines, DVD's and television. The breakfast was great and Di and Ray could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwisNZ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#23 of 34 in Whangarei
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
8.0 mi away
Kauri Villas
Kauri Villas
#1 of 30 in Whangarei
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B By the Park
B&B By the Park
#2 of 30 in Whangarei
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 83 Hatea Drive | Regent, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a warm welcome when you arrive at our centrally located 100yr old villa with light airy decor and comfortable modern furnishings. Four Restaurants are within a 15minute easy walk and the Town Centre and Basin are a 3 minute drive. Beautiful bush walking tracks are on our doorstep. We have two guest bedrooms, 1 queen and 1 super-king with en-suite bathrooms. All our rooms have comfortable beds with quality linen and feather down blankets.Guests facilities include spacious lounge, Sky TV/DVD, free wireless internet, safe off street parking and a garden seating area. Enjoy unlimited tea and coffee, home baking and a delicious continental breakfast.Make Chelsea House your base to explore the North. You can do day trips to the famous Kauri Forest and swimming with the Dolphins at the Bay of Islands is only 60 minutes away. With our extensive knowledge of New Zealand we can help you with your holiday planning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing