We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whangarei's Clapham Clocks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claphams Clocks - The National Clock Museum

Claphams Clocks - The National Clock Museum
Ranked #9 of 57 things to do in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Whangarei
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Whangarei's Clapham Clocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is an absolute must see in Whanagrei. We have been there a few time and found it just amazing. There are so many varieties of clocks. Just amazing how the old masters developed their skills

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Woolies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    33
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Vic
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fascinating clock museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I came here with my sister and we spent ages walking around looking at all the clocks. Such an impressive collection - there are clocks of every shape and size. Some are beautiful, some are funny, some are huge, some are small. We had a long discussion with the curator on the way out as well - she was very informative and interesting. This is not the sort of place I would normally visit but I was very glad that I had.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank slinky1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
2 reviews
“Great Collection - So Much Knowledge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The staff gave an awesome run down of the clocks in the collection, what a great collection they have accumulated. Recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacka090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Brilliant little museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a brilliant little museum with a wonderful collection of clocks, novelty clocks, all kinds of mechanical clocks, a veritable clock history. Our family of ages ranging from 4 to 71 really enjoyed it and we had difficulty persuading our 4 year old grandson to leave as we had a plane to catch. (He is still asking to go back there but unfortunately lives in Wellington!) We had a short tour from one of the two very committed and helpful staff. And to note - the loos are spotless. And there's a good children's playground just next door.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GolfinaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great to look back on time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Such a collection and narration on the many od timers.Just take a wander round and enjoy the clock collection of all ages

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank murjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claphams Clocks - The National Clock Museum also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Claphams Clocks - The National Clock Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing