We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Eden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eden House
Ranked #9 of 29 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 8, 2012

A really nice place,though a bit out of town on hilly winding roads.Though surprisingly you get use to it,except getting in their gateway and you cant see down infront of your car.scary the 1st time.That aside its a very lovely place and Carole and Richard could not be nicer. The bedrooms are very good, our was the Queen room. Shower very hot and powerful, portable heaters for the chilly evenings and mornings in mid May.They have a vast collection of DVD's and books in the cosy TV room.Carole and Richard are very helpful and try to give you as much info to enjoy your stay. .I had to e-mail them when I got home as I could not remember the names of the many places we visited,on our 5 nights stay.They were very prompt at sending the answers. Their ''Garden walk '' is something else,they have a sense of humour when they say 20minutes ( be warned ) Many places to visit,The Museum and Kiwi House is good to actually see Kiwi's, they feed them at 2-00pm each day. Its quite dark inside and no flash photo's allowed. There is a lovely lady at the reception who can gave you a great talk about them.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Hi Barry and Jang,

Delighted to receive your review. Thank you so much for tking the time and effort. It was lovely to see how you enjoyed your stay. It was mutual.

We have just returned from five days down in Dunedin on the B&B Association conference. The first day we spent 3 hours touring the skies of NZ, only to arrive back at Auckland! Dunedin airport was closed. But all went well after that and we enjoyed our break.

I trust you are enjoying your lovely hot weather whilst we are putting on extra layers!

The rear patio area has now been completed and will be a nice sun trap for relaxing. It was hard work but well worth the effort.

Must pop down the trail to do some maintenance. Big pat on the back to you both for completing the circuit.

Take care and look forward maybe to seeing you both again.

Warmest wishes,

Richard and Carole
Eden House
Whangarei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 47 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

Carole and Richard leave nothing to chance at Eden House. Views are fantastic, meals are out of this world, accommodations are cozy and the setting is ideal for relaxation! Upon arrival, Richard asked what we intended to see while in Whangarei. Of course we had way to much planned for our three days. He and Carole had prepared one day sight seeing suggestions including maps! WOW, we had never experienced that before. They prepared for us an authentic Bhutanese evening meal which was absolutely delicious. If anyone is thinking about starting up a B&B, they should first stay with Carole and Richard to see how it is properly done! Thank you for a great time and we hope to come back in the near future!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Hi Bob and Annette,

What a wonderful review, thank you so much for doing that. It really gives us a lift when we know that our guests have enjoyed their stay so much.

It was great having you here and now the season is slowing down the house seems very quiet. And thank you again for the wine, it was very kind of you.

Must start on all the autumn and winter chores now.

Warmest wishes,

Richard and Carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We spent seven days in this resort. Lovely hosts: Carole & Richard. They prepared excellent meals. It is really a piece of paradise: so beautiful; quiet; wonderful view from the balcony; nice garden and a very special own native tree forest. We can recommend this for 100%!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinfriedEde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Hi Winfried and Evelyn,

What a lovely review, thank you so much. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was of equal pleasure to us and the time went so quickly. I trust that spring in Holland is all blooming with your lovely tulips? We have just had a few nice warm days though I had to do some repairs to our nature trail as we had 2 months of rain in 36 hours! One bridge nearly got washed away. But like typical NZ forest it is recovering quickly and very beautiful.

Our warmest wishes, and thank you again for taking the time to give us such a nice review.

Richard and Carole 'down under'.

Ric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We travelled NZ for 3 over weeks. This was our first B&B and it set a very high standard. It is a bit out of town but the views are superb and the room, food and hospitality were excellent. We asked for an evening meal for the first night and that was also very good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Hi Roger and Joyce,

Many thanks for taking the trouble to give us a review, it is most appreciated. We hope you are enjoying the remainder of your holiday in NZ and staying in lots of lovely places! Yesterday the sun broke through (at last) and our current guests took a quick trip to the Bay of Islands and returned to enjoy our Bhutanese evening.

We hope Eden House has contributed to the many happy memories you'll take back with you to UK.

Warmest wishes,

Richard and Carole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Richard and Carole are wonderful hosts. The rooms are beautiful with lots of individual character. Spotlessly clean but not sterile. A wealth of books, dvds and conversation when wanted. The garden is a little piece of paradise. The bush walk is a must for all especially if not from NZ. The meals were great! The food was lovely and the company (Carole & Richard) superb! We had such a good time there, there aren't enough adjectives. We will be going back and encourage anyone who wishes a relaxed home away from home to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peninaanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Hi Dave and Pernina,

So thrilled at your review. Thank you so much for taking the trouble and time for us. It's one of the things that makes it all worth while. It's always a little sad as we say goodbye to guests. We trust you had a great trip back to Auckland? We've awoken to nice skies again this morning.

Oh, and the plumber came round yesterday to fix the leak which turned out to be the mixer on the shower head. So, big relief all round. Thank you for being so patient.

Our family arrive from Sydney this Saturday with our grandchild - Mr Mischief!

Warmest wishes from us both,

Richard and Carole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

The house of Eden was a wonderful place to stay. Richard showed us our room and the view was just breath taking. You step out on the balcony with a wonderful view of their gardening and all the tropical forest around. I have a beautiful picture of the full moon right outside that balcony at night when we stayed. Truly amazing! Beautiful flowers were on our pillows on our bed with some chocolates on the side of the night stand in a dish. I felt like a princess or like I was on my honeymoon. The room and home was very clean. Richard and Carol made us feel right at home. They also gave a us a map and drew us up a little map to see all the scenic sights and good places to get a bite. Breakfast was delicious and very filling with so many choices. I still smile til this day when we were all in the kitchen talking about the different species and animals in New Zealand and comparing them to back at home and Richard said something about Wetas. I was curious as to what they were and he put his shoes on and took me to go see them. Needless to say I snapped some photos and some of my girlfriends are pretty disgusted by wetas, lol. If you are in Whangarei and want good hospitality, good food, and great views right outside your window of New Zealands beauty then I would highly recommend that you stay at The House Of Eden with Richard and Carol. Chad and I thank you for everything Carol and Richard. You have most defiantly left an impression on us where we will be back when we are over visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevieTaylorLoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Hi guys,

So thrilled to see your review. Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble for us, it's so appreciated. We trust you have had a good journey back to the states? So pleased you mentioned the Wetas as it's the little things like that that makes it so personal.

We'll still think of you Stephanie as 'The girl with the dragon tattoo', even though it wasn't a dragon! But very impressive.

Blue skies today and we're trying to ignore the forecast which has warned of a big front approaching! Our Son and his partner arrive from Sydney on Saturday along with our grandchild - Master Mischief! We do hope they get some good weather.

Once again many thanks, it was lovely hearing from you both.

Warmest wishes,

Richard and Carole
Eden House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We had a wonderful Christmas with Richard and Carole who made us and our 1 year old son feel perfectly at home, The food was amazing, our room was more than spacious with our son having plenty room to move. The hospitatility is second to none and we will definitely be back there again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Hi Leisa, Damien and James,

I've only just discovered how to respond to reviews from the tripadvisor site! Doesn't say much for my web skills does it! Anyway, so grateful for you taking the time and trouble to give us a review. And such a lovely one at that! Thank you so much.

Hope your summer in Oz is going well? We have blue skies again at the moment but a big front is moving in. Just in time for our Damien, his partner and Thomas (James the 2nd) to arrive on Saturday. The stair gate will come out again, along with the cot and baby chairs.

Trust you are all well and enjoying your summer. The time is flying by.

Once again many thanks to you both,

Warmest wishes,

Richard and Carole
Eden House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
6.4 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
150 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
297 reviews
5.7 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Motel Six
Motel Six
#16 of 34 in Whangarei
58 reviews
6.5 mi away
Burgundy Rose Motel
Burgundy Rose Motel
#6 of 34 in Whangarei
130 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Address: 510 Owhiwa Road | Parua Bay, Whangarei 0192, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range: $62 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning spacious Tuscan style home in a serene rural setting with spectacular views to the distant Pacific. Enjoy large luxury bedrooms, with private bathroom or en-suite. Two lounges, swimming pool, TV/DVD/Video library. 11 Acres of private grounds. Ideal touring centre - beaches, scenic bays, walks, golf and other amenities nearby. Delicious cuisine:- Full Kiwi cooked breakfast plus continental selection. Delightful evening meals available. Enjoy our traditional Kiwi Christmas with a four course dinner and drinks all inclusive plus relaxing ambience. Our motto? Arrive as guests, depart as friends. The ambience of Eden House is only exceeded by the warmth of your welcome! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing