We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hospitality, good quality and value,spectacular location”
Review of Eden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eden House
Ranked #15 of 30 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality, good quality and value,spectacular location”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We had a memorable stay - warm hospitality (but not intrusive!), great comfort and fine cooking in a beautiful location with long views to the sea, that is a good base to explore what Whangarei Heads has to offer (Smuggler's cove, Poor Knights Islands diving, etc.). We much enjoyed a rich Bhutanese evening put on by Richard and Carole and loved their spacious house and the way it offers the choice of both privacy and conviviality. They were very helpful and informative when planning things to do. All in all, an exceptional experience and a high point of our holiday on the North Island.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent. Shared bathroom downstairs not an issue, dressing gowns supplied. Downstairs ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

A lovely home, great hosts, beautiful views, just the best of the best!

Room Tip: All rooms are 'best'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ugausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This was my first visit to New Zealand. The folks at Eden House immediately made me feel welcome and it was quite similar to feeling at home. I really appreciated the interaction with them. I did not feel "here it is contact us if you want anything". Casual conversation enable me to really get to know NZ. They were most helpful with refining my trip through the rest of New Zealand. Both are excellent ambassadors for New Zealand. I rate them to be the highest I could rate.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamorrison1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Eden House was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there. It wasn't coastal so we weren't sure at first whether it would suit us. It is about 18 km east of Whangarei and in a really nice rural location, quiet with fantastic views.

The rooms were wonderful, large and comfortable and the house was so spacious. We immediately felt at home.

The hospitality was tremendous and Richard and Carole couldn't do enough for us. Great laughs, super food. We tried the Bhutanese experience with decor, music and really good food. I'd hardly heard of the country but they made it so interesting. It has to have been the best accommodation location of our trip to New Zealand. It wasn't just a bed for the night but as they say in the website, it was a memory to take away with us.

Lots to do locally, and Whangarei Heads is truly a hidden gem! Try the walk to Smugglers cove - fantastic. Jocelyn reckons the area is actually better than the Bay of Islands as there are more coves, walks and beaches.

We listened to the moorpork (owls) at night. Yes, I'd definitly recommend this place to anyone. As big Arnie says... We'll be back...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Springwood11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albionjds2010
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Where do I start..Richard and Carole our hosts were just brilliant,made us feel so welcome. Eden House is like a hideaway with breathtaking views over the bush towards the Pacific. Approximately 20 minutes drive from the lights of Whangarei,if you can get down to Smugglers Beach and Ocean Beach they are just amazing. Superb breakfast with the hosts followed by a 'must do'....the bush walk at the end of the garden,but look out for the strategically placed creepy crawlies. We only stayed for one night but Richard and Carole said that they host murder mystery weekends which in that location sound amazing. Summing up if you want an amazing place to stay,with lovely hosts,and at a really good price,in an amazing location..Eden House is the place. If anyone is going out for the Rugby World Cup 2011,this would be an ideal base to stay,and if the rugby has finished you can always take a dip in the pool and take in the awesome views. Will definitely go back there again..thankyou Richard and Carole :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albionjds2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Faultless! A stunning room, beautiful remote location, delightful hosts, wonderful hospitality, brilliant breakfasts. Have evening meal(s) with Carole and Richard and enjoy their delicious cooking. Spent four nights here and could not have wished for better. Go there but spend some time soaking up the atmosphere and kindness of your hosts.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Beautiful house set in the hills above Whangarei,each room has its own view over the semi-tropical forest that are the gardens, with a view of the sea in the distance. Richard and Carol are great hosts with lots of knowledge of the area. Breakfasts are to die for!
We would recommend Eden house to anyone

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
6.4 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kauri Villas
Kauri Villas
#1 of 30 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.8 mi away
Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
B&B By the Park
B&B By the Park
#2 of 30 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
7.6 mi away
Russell's Rest
Russell's Rest
#4 of 30 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pentland House B&B
Pentland House B&B
#5 of 30 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Property: Eden House
Address: 510 Owhiwa Road | Parua Bay, Whangarei 0192, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning spacious Tuscan style home in a serene rural setting with spectacular views to the distant Pacific. Enjoy large luxury bedrooms, with private bathroom or en-suite. Two lounges, swimming pool, TV/DVD/Video library. 11 Acres of private grounds. Ideal touring centre - beaches, scenic bays, walks, golf and other amenities nearby. Delicious cuisine:- Full Kiwi cooked breakfast plus continental selection. Delightful evening meals available. Enjoy our traditional Kiwi Christmas with a four course dinner and drinks all inclusive plus relaxing ambience. Our motto? Arrive as guests, depart as friends. The ambience of Eden House is only exceeded by the warmth of your welcome! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing