We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Eden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eden House
Ranked #14 of 31 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 10, 2011

A lovely home, great hosts, beautiful views, just the best of the best!

Room Tip: All rooms are 'best'.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ugausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Eden House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 46 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2011

This was my first visit to New Zealand. The folks at Eden House immediately made me feel welcome and it was quite similar to feeling at home. I really appreciated the interaction with them. I did not feel "here it is contact us if you want anything". Casual conversation enable me to really get to know NZ. They were most helpful with refining my trip through the rest of New Zealand. Both are excellent ambassadors for New Zealand. I rate them to be the highest I could rate.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamorrison1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Eden House was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there. It wasn't coastal so we weren't sure at first whether it would suit us. It is about 18 km east of Whangarei and in a really nice rural location, quiet with fantastic views.

The rooms were wonderful, large and comfortable and the house was so spacious. We immediately felt at home.

The hospitality was tremendous and Richard and Carole couldn't do enough for us. Great laughs, super food. We tried the Bhutanese experience with decor, music and really good food. I'd hardly heard of the country but they made it so interesting. It has to have been the best accommodation location of our trip to New Zealand. It wasn't just a bed for the night but as they say in the website, it was a memory to take away with us.

Lots to do locally, and Whangarei Heads is truly a hidden gem! Try the walk to Smugglers cove - fantastic. Jocelyn reckons the area is actually better than the Bay of Islands as there are more coves, walks and beaches.

We listened to the moorpork (owls) at night. Yes, I'd definitly recommend this place to anyone. As big Arnie says... We'll be back...

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springwood11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Where do I start..Richard and Carole our hosts were just brilliant,made us feel so welcome. Eden House is like a hideaway with breathtaking views over the bush towards the Pacific. Approximately 20 minutes drive from the lights of Whangarei,if you can get down to Smugglers Beach and Ocean Beach they are just amazing. Superb breakfast with the hosts followed by a 'must do'....the bush walk at the end of the garden,but look out for the strategically placed creepy crawlies. We only stayed for one night but Richard and Carole said that they host murder mystery weekends which in that location sound amazing. Summing up if you want an amazing place to stay,with lovely hosts,and at a really good price,in an amazing location..Eden House is the place. If anyone is going out for the Rugby World Cup 2011,this would be an ideal base to stay,and if the rugby has finished you can always take a dip in the pool and take in the awesome views. Will definitely go back there again..thankyou Richard and Carole :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albionjds2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Faultless! A stunning room, beautiful remote location, delightful hosts, wonderful hospitality, brilliant breakfasts. Have evening meal(s) with Carole and Richard and enjoy their delicious cooking. Spent four nights here and could not have wished for better. Go there but spend some time soaking up the atmosphere and kindness of your hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Beautiful house set in the hills above Whangarei,each room has its own view over the semi-tropical forest that are the gardens, with a view of the sea in the distance. Richard and Carol are great hosts with lots of knowledge of the area. Breakfasts are to die for!
We would recommend Eden house to anyone

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Upon arriving at Eden House, we were warmly welcomed by Richard and Carole and instantly felt 'at home'. Looking out to beautiful views of the ocean and rainforest, we had the option to unwind by the pool, or only a short drive through rolling countryside and we were able to enjoy a plethora of coastal walks and unspoilt white sand beaches. Perfect!

The whole ambience of Eden House is one of peace and relaxation, and without a doubt we slept better than we had in a long time!

And it has to be said that the home cooked meals are delicious! We can't recommend this cosy, luxurious homestay enough!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
6.4 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
142 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kauri Villas
Kauri Villas
#1 of 31 in Whangarei
132 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
6.4 mi away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
5.9 mi away
Motel Six
Motel Six
#16 of 34 in Whangarei
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Address: 510 Owhiwa Road | Parua Bay, Whangarei 0192, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range: $66 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning spacious Tuscan style home in a serene rural setting with spectacular views to the distant Pacific. Enjoy large luxury bedrooms, with private bathroom or en-suite. Two lounges, swimming pool, TV/DVD/Video library. 11 Acres of private grounds. Ideal touring centre - beaches, scenic bays, walks, golf and other amenities nearby. Delicious cuisine:- Full Kiwi cooked breakfast plus continental selection. Delightful evening meals available. Enjoy our traditional Kiwi Christmas with a four course dinner and drinks all inclusive plus relaxing ambience. Our motto? Arrive as guests, depart as friends. The ambience of Eden House is only exceeded by the warmth of your welcome! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing