We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 1 night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodge Bordeaux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodge Bordeaux
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great 1 night stay”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stopped in here on our way up to Taipa for New Years. Very nice place and rooms. It had a very unique style which we liked. The spa bath was a real treat with a candle set into the wall. The kitchen facilities in the room were good however we did not really use them on this stay.

The owners were away so a nice friendly couple were minding the hotel. They provided us a great service and made us a yummy breakfast delivered right to our door.

On departure they gave us some travelling advice for a trip up north.

Have already recommended this place to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0llyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
As new owners its great to get the positive feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    23
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
63
2
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Exceptional place! Extremely comfortable room, we were in studio with shower. Lovely king bed and everything clean and beautifully presented. Laundry facilities are free. Mini bar very fair prices. Staff helpful and nice to deal with. I even had a swim in pool which was lovely and warm. Nothing to complain about here, well worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Lodge Bordeaux. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and are delighted that you were happy with the rooms amenities and especially that you mention the cleanliness. It is a top priority in any accommodation venue, whether two star or five!!! Our cleaning staff take pride in the job they do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3,193 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 634 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is as good as a motel can get. The place was well furnished and decorated and everything was top class which was a surprise. Staff were friendly and there was really nothing more you could want from a motel.

Room Tip: Traffic noise may be a problem near the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of Lodge Bordeaux. We welcome feedback from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

This studio was wonderfully appointed with a very comfortable kingsize bed, a sitting area, dining area and very nice kitchen which was very well supplied with food and drink which were very reasonably priced. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The bath had a nice whirlpool spa as well as shower

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tumblingshoals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found that our rooms were well appointed to meet your needs while away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a nice hotel. We picked it because of TripAdvisor and because the hotel advertised free fast speed internet. Generally speaking, the employees, etc. were nice. One of the owners was so nice, in fact, that he let me try to upload something from the front office of the hotel.

That being said, he also destroyed much of my trip. He understood that I needed to upload certain files (videos we were making in NZ) and that they needed to be uploaded while we were there so they could be viewed in the USA the next day or so. Yet, in the middle of the night, he canceled one, without consulting me--and none ever ended up going through (I had to spend a lot of time finding another internet location that could help me). Furthermore, in addition to me having to pay more in my room for internet access as the online server in the room told me, when we went to check out, we were also charged an additional NZ$10 per day for internet. Something that was supposed to be free.

Now, we noticed that the hotel has since changed there claims about the internet, but this hurt and disappointed us--then getting the extra charge was adding insult to injury.

We were also not allowed any pool access, which also disappointed us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Internetuser2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Our response to RT:

We are sorry that your stay at Lodge Bordeaux did not measure up to your expectations, however we wish to respond to your comments.
We feel that we went out of our way to make your stay pleasant. We even gave you an extra bed for the four nights of your stay, at no charge.
We made every effort to deal with the problems you experienced regarding the internet issues - to the point of allowing you access to our own laptop and using the private internet access through our reception.
We put you in touch with our IT person who advised that there was only one place in Whangarei who might able to upload files as large (up to 5 Gb per day) as the ones you wanted to send.
We have not changed anything on our website, or anywhere else we advertise. In our guest compendium it states ...
"We provide 100mb of free internet access daily. Thereafter, extra usage can be purchased online using your Credit Card ."
With regard to your allegation that David switched off the computer without checking with you first - the computer that we allowed you to borrow, and which was set up on our reception desk. You started to upload filesduring the morning of Friday, went out for the day leaving the computer running. The computer was left running all night Friday, and the uploading had hours still to go, hence David pulled the plug on Saturday afternoon as the computer was required elsewhere. As you did not leave a phone number, we were unable to contact you. If you were so concerned about the files that you were uploading, we felt that you should have at least checked on the progress and made sure that you were not disrupting our business.
Uploading 5Gb files is unacceptable to our internet provider, and the internet we provide can only be as fast as the speed of internet available in New Zealand.
We did charge $40.00 ($10.00 per day) for internet useage. Given the size of the files being uploaded, this is a very minimal charge. We provide 100mb free useage - not 3-5 Gb or more.

And as for RT''s claim of not being given access to the pool. We clearly state in the guest compendium "The pool is heated from Labour weekend (late October) to Easter. " At no time did any of RT's family mention that they wanted to use the pool, or we would have advised that the pool was not heated, and so not very condusive to swimming in mid September. But we would not have "denied access" to the pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

By New Zealand standards this may seem an expensive motel, but it is more than a motel; and it is well worth the money in terms of space, suite layout, facilities offered, maintenance and cleanliness standards. We had no issue with road noise (as reported by other reviewers) being in a unit distant from the road; but it was perhaps this which gave us an occasional irritation when the Wi-Fi to the unit dropped out.

For the record, this was a suite proper, with a separate bedroom, a very generous living room with what seemed to be a convertible sofa and a lavishly-equipped kitchen, and an excellent bathroom. A very well-stocked mini-bar (as well as racked 750ml bottles of wine) rounded it all off..

Room Tip: Suite 7 is one of those furthest from the main road, and very quiet. Visitors to Whangarei may no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your glowing appraisal of our property. We make every effort to make our guests' stay memorable. Such a positive review from a well-travelled customer makes it all worth-while. Sorry about the internet dropping out. We are on the lookout for a more reliable internet supplier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Lovely large accommodation with clean and vintage / homely design. Well equipped kitchen and appliance. Comfortable bed. Friendly staff. I loved my spa!!! Despite situating on state highway 1 - it's very quiet if you are situated in one of the rooms at the back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
1.2 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
3.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#11 of 34 in Whangarei
49 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
281 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#4 of 34 in Whangarei
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Bordeaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Bordeaux

Property: Lodge Bordeaux
Address: 361 Western Hills Drive - State Highway 1, Whangarei, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lodge Bordeaux 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge Bordeaux is Whangarei’s only Qualmark 5 Star motel offering luxury accommodation to the discerning traveller or business executive.Only 2 hours drive from Auckland and a short distance from Whangarei shopping and business district, restaurants, sports and conference facilities. Beautifully landscaped grounds with heated swimming pool.Room décor is sophisticated and elegant.The fabrics and linens are tasteful, the bathrooms are luxurious. Rooms are spacious, many have their own balcony/patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge Bordeaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing