We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay and Great Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodge Bordeaux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lodge Bordeaux
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay and Great Hosts”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed here every time we have stayed in Whangarei. Great for when we have our son or if we are just wanting a night away alone.
Clean, tidy, nice rooms and friendly hosts. Love the spa bath rooms :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10AKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We are so happy that we continue to live up to your expectations. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    23
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
63
2
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We are regular visitors to Whangarei and this is our first stay at Lodge Bordeaux which we have found to be the most superior of all hotels. It is also deserving of the 5 star Qualmark rating it has been given. Excellent value for money. Great amenities. Spacious, exceptionally clean & hygenic with many extras. Definitely worth coming back to. Well done David & Heather

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you back again.. It is always nice to hear praise for our cleaning staff who do such a good job, and one which is often overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Lodge Bordeaux is a well positioned motel and is close to a large Countdown and local reataurants. It has a lovely, small outdoor heated pool. The rooms are beautiful with modern, nicely decorated rooms and are very clean. The spa bath is fantastic and there are full length mirrors which are great when you are getting ready for a night out. I would recommend to other families. I have stayed at several places in Whangarei and it is definitely the best motel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unzlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Lodge Bordeaux. We appreciate feedback from customers - whether positive or negative. It is through the review process that we can focus on making any necessary improvements to the property or service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Staying here for one night, this newish motel was a pleasure to stay in. With a French and wine theme the furnishings were very tasteful. The bathroom was also beautifully presented and came with a spa and shower. Despite being close to a main road I had a good night sleep in a comfortable bed. The kitchen was fully equipped and the wi fi worked well with an inexpensive option to purchase more time, if required. There is a small pool which was great after a day of driving on a hot day and bliss, the room had a modern working reverse cycle airconditioner! The owner was very helpful and gave us directions for some of the attractions that we were keen to see. This motel is a 5 star and priced accordingly, but you get a lot for your dollar. I would certainly not hesitate to stay here again, as this motel was elegant, beautifully presented and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grevillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate it when guests share their experience of our property. We try hard to make every stay pleasant and memorable, and for our service and amenities to exceed guests' expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our way fom Hamilton to the Bay of Islands. Stayed in room 4 which was a spacious queen bed room with sofa, table & 2 chairs, kitchenette and spa bathroom. Plenty of parking in front of the rooms. The hotel is well maintained and managed by friendly staff.

It is located on highway 1 but the rooms are away from the road sufficiently so that you barely hear the passing traffic.

Free WiFi and Sky TV made the room cost even more attractive. Staff were very helpful with advice. I have no hesitation is recommending this motel.

Room Tip: If you like spa suites I can recommend room 4 which has a 2 person spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you Chris M for your honest review of Lodge Bordeaux. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed for a few nights, but being located right next to the main state highway 1, the traffic noise was relentless all day & into the night. I only tried the breakfast once as the small portion was served lukewarm on a cold plate. The internet connection was quite feeble, no milk in the fridge. Every morning Housekeeping made sure everyone was up by 8:00pm sharp (like roll call) with the yelling across the court yard. Service desk was abrupt. Rooms are dated. All in all not a very good look for NZ Tourism if this “Faulty Towers” outfit is considered a 5 star. Poor value for the room rate.

Not Happy
Welington

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_S349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
In reply to rob_s349…

I suspect that S & R are upset due to being charged extra as a result of expenses incurred after coffee was spilled in the bed. The mattress, sheets and underblanket were all soaked by the coffee. The mattress had to be commercially cleaned to avoid staining, and could not be used until it had time to dry (overnight). This necessitated the guests being accommodated in another unit, and left the room they had been in unsellable.
We understand that accidents happen, however the sooner we are advised about one, the sooner we are able to deal with it.

We are aware that our motel is on State Highway 1, and that traffic is heavy, especially during peak holiday time. Unfortunately we are unable to control traffic flows. Measures have been put in place, in the building of the property, to minimise noise eg “hush glass” in windows, sound insulation in walls and good solid wooden doors in all units.

With regard to breakfast – our plates are always heated, and we consider that portions are generous. Breakfasts are delivered to the room , so we apologise if there was a problem with the breakfast. We would have appreciated a polite phone call so we could have had the opportunity to remedy any problem.

When a guest checks in to Lodge Bordeaux, we ask them if they require milk for tea and coffee. We do not replace milk on a daily basis, however we are only too happy to provide extra milk when asked (at no charge).

The internet connection is a hotspot, provided by an outside company. The guests did not advise us of an issue, however there is a helpdesk number in the compendium if there is a problem.

With regard to housekeeping staff waking the guests up…during the holiday period only one staff member starts work at 9.00am, and the others do not start until after 9.30am. If there were people yelling in the courtyard, it could not have been our staff.

The rooms are decorated in a French provincial style with quality furnishings, linen and decorative elements that are not usually associated with motels. They were designed to add to the overall feel of a French country lodge, hence why the motel is named Lodge Bordeaux.

Lodge Bordeaux has a 5 Star Qualmark rating. This means that the business has been independently assessed by an assessor with a high level of industry experience, against a set of national quality standards. Assessments cover the essential requirements of cleanliness, safety, security and comfort; and also quality of services appropriate to the star grade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom suite and it was fantastic for our needs. The living room and dining area were both a good size, as you could stay for an extended period of time with a family. The kitchen was well appointed, loved having our own French press! The Hotel is family owned and the owners were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had trouble with other guests being quite noisy in the middle of the night, so maybe the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler60614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay, and yes, the Two Bedroom Suite is very spacious and comfortable for an extended family stay. We must apologise for the noisy guests. We live on site, but did not hear anything (heavy sleepers, I'm afraid...). You should have called us and we could have sorted the problem out. We do not tolerate bad behaviour that upsets other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
1.2 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
2.3 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#11 of 34 in Whangarei
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
6.2 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
281 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#4 of 34 in Whangarei
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Bordeaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Bordeaux

Property: Lodge Bordeaux
Address: 361 Western Hills Drive - State Highway 1, Whangarei, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lodge Bordeaux 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge Bordeaux is Whangarei’s only Qualmark 5 Star motel offering luxury accommodation to the discerning traveller or business executive.Only 2 hours drive from Auckland and a short distance from Whangarei shopping and business district, restaurants, sports and conference facilities. Beautifully landscaped grounds with heated swimming pool.Room décor is sophisticated and elegant.The fabrics and linens are tasteful, the bathrooms are luxurious. Rooms are spacious, many have their own balcony/patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge Bordeaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing