We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous - we will be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge Bordeaux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lodge Bordeaux
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous - we will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

Last minute booking online (night before) went smoothly, and our check in was fast. The room was outstanding, very spacious, very open, very clean and very modern. Very, very comfortable. The bath was awesome! Facilities in our room were great, we had no trouble making a full breakfast in the morning and it was so easy to scoop all the dishes into the dishwasher. They do deserve their 5 stars, and we will be back again next time we come to Whangarei for business. Just wish it hadn't rained so hard, as I was keen to use the heated swimming pool, but never mind there will be a next time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, March 20, 2011
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I hope we can turn on better weather for your next visit!!! Regards, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    23
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
60
2
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

This "lodge" is rated 5 star. Be aware that while this is probably one of the best accommodations available in the small town of Whangarei, it is located on a busy road that runs thru town, and away from the retail and tourist areas such as the harbour. It is really a motel where cars drive up to the front door of each unit - so you are potentially exposed to the noise and headlights from cars driving in late at night. The rooms are nice, but our 1 bedroom unit only had a very uncomfortable love seat to sit on?? The biggest issue was that we were charged $25 for 22 minutes of internet use - over $1 / minute. We found that hotel internet use in New Zealand and Australia is ridiculously expensive, but $25 for 22 minutes is out and out theft. Of course the manager blamed their third party service provider, but I suggested to him that at those rates, it is not much of a service and reflect very badly on the lodge.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mostowich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
To clear up a few points...
1. Lodge Bordeaux is a motel - not a hotel or a luxury lodge. Our Qualmark 5 Star rating is listed in the Self Contained and Serviced category, and all our guide book advertising lists us in the motel and motor lodge sections. With regard to location - yes, we are on a main highway, but our rooms have been designed with good insulation, hush glass in windows etc. We are approximately 10 minutes walk from the city centre - shopping, restaurants etc.
2. The uncomfortable "love seat" is in fact a reasonable sized 2 seater couch. In the One Bedroom Suites there is normally also an armchair. Possibly when these guests arrived the armchair had been removed as the chair caster had been broken by a previous guest, and we were waiting on a replacement caster. If we had been made aware that there was a problem with the seating arrangements, we would have done our best to find a suitable temporary replacement. We are unable to rectify a problem unless we are aware there is a problem.
3. The internet - our broadband internet is charged as follows...
30 mins = $5.00; 1 hour= $8.00; 2 hours=$12.00; 6 hours=$18.00; 1 day pass= $25.00
The guest must scroll down and chose the applicable time. These rates are clearly set out in the Guest Compendium on the dining table in each room.
Had the guests phoned reception and advised that there was a problem with their internet access, or if they had mentioned on checkout that access had been limited we would have discounted the internet useage from the bill. Once again, we can't fix what we don't know about.
Wireless internet is being introduced in the next few weeks.

It is unfortunate that the writer had such a poor view of Lodge Bordeaux. We always aim to give our guests a pleasurable experience when they visit Northland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

What a gem! The staff at this hotel were so interested in our travels and did everything to make sure we were well-cared for. Whether suggesting delicious restaurants (like the Mozart cafe!) or helping us track down lost items, they were fantastic. The real star here, though, is the accomodation! A spacious bedroom with one of the most comfy beds I've ever slept on was just the start! There was plenty of room for luggage and they even provide bathrobes! The kitchenette in each room is well stocked and very trendy. The entire room is decorately tastefully with every need considered! Being the lodge Bordeaux, there is even wine available in each room for purchase if you choose! The spa bath with large, fluffy towels and a towel warmer was a dream come true. There is a FREE laundry facility on-site, which was extremely useful after diving the Poor Knights. If you are anywhere near Whangarei, make it a priority to spend at least a night or two here- you won't regret it!! It is clean, luxurious, and a fair price for the incredible accomodation you'll surely enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASonginmyHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed in a one bedroom unit (with spa bath) with management providing a couple of rollaway beds in the living area for our two children. We've stayed there before and, as always, the unit is immaculate and very well presented. I've found it hard to find good accommodation in Whangarei that's close to town and sure, I do admit to being somewhat fussy at times, but this establishment fits our brief perfectly. Management friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaisyNorthland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

My husband and I booked here for business (we stay in 20-25 motels and holiday homes per year all over NZ for our work) with our student son in tow, with one of our main criteria being met per the "For your comfort" section, namely Fast Internet Connection. We arrived, checked in, unloaded our luggage & asked for the password. Oh there's no password, we were informed, there's the cable over there in the corner....for one user....and with a substantial charge, if memory serves maxing out at $14 per day! We expressed dismay at this bit of news because "fast internet connection" was listed (and as of this writing still is listed) between "hush glass windows and sound proofing" and "DVD players", "Sky TV", and ""Heated Swimming Pool"...none of which there is naturally, no additional charge for. So why is something so necessary to today's business travelers who may have colleagues staying together needing a wireless connection NOT included in the room tariff at such a very posh establishment? And isn't it a bit odd that a chargeable item would be tucked in amongst amenities that are so very clearly included with the room. We politely expressed our dismay again, explained why we believed it was included with the room rate, that it was an amenity we put near the top of our list when selecting accommodation.

Although the quite short internet cable instead of wireless was archaic and inconvenient, we nevertheless attempted to bargain to include a basic amount of internet time with our room rate. We were met with a very frosty and condescending reply with not so much as an "I can see how you might have thought it was included as it was lumped with the basic room amenities" comment. We were told that people that drove Rolls Royce automobiles stayed there & had never complained, possibly meant to lump us in with the "common" people. ?

Yes it is an attractive and well-appointed establishment, but no we were not impressed with the "I can do without you quite easily" attitude of the manager-ess, so we re-packed our belongings and moved to another motel. The fact that in the many months since we were there, the online listing has yet to be clarified is what has finally prompted me to write this review.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmilinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

Extremely clean 2 bedroom unit next to the pool, very comfortable with lovely furnishings. Lots of room, friendly proprietors, will stay again when in Whangarei. Quiet.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarinAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

Have stayed in a lot of places in NZ but this has to be the one of the best. The rooms were spotless and beautifully set up and luxourious. The mini bar was well stocked and there were snacks available at a cost. The bathroom had a double spa bath and even had a special candle holder with a tea candle for that romantic evening. We had our own private balcony which just finished it all off. There was also a large selection of dvds available at the office which were available.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LotsaBlondeMoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
1.2 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#24 of 35 in Whangarei
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#11 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 35 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#3 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Bordeaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Bordeaux

Property: Lodge Bordeaux
Address: 361 Western Hills Drive - State Highway 1, Whangarei, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lodge Bordeaux 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge Bordeaux is Whangarei’s only Qualmark 5 Star motel offering luxury accommodation to the discerning traveller or business executive.Only 2 hours drive from Auckland and a short distance from Whangarei shopping and business district, restaurants, sports and conference facilities. Beautifully landscaped grounds with heated swimming pool.Room décor is sophisticated and elegant.The fabrics and linens are tasteful, the bathrooms are luxurious. Rooms are spacious, many have their own balcony/patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lodge Bordeaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing