We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal holiday spot. Well appointed accommodation and fantastic customer service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kauri Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kauri Villas
Ranked #1 of 32 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Ideal holiday spot. Well appointed accommodation and fantastic customer service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

A group of 4, we visited Whangarei for the marathon and chose Kauri Villas for its beautiful rooms and flexibility of accommodation, as our group could have been larger.

From my initial enquiry I was impressed with the customer service offered by Drew and Sue - prompt response, informative and willing to offer us flexibility.

On arrival we were stunned by the beautiful buildings, surroundings and views. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming, and genuinely interested in our comfort.

The logde in which we stayed was well appointed and scrupulously clean.

Drew and Sue are masters at the art of hospitality - there when we wanted them, informative and helpful, but also happy to leave us to our own devices.

We will definitely recommend Kauri Villas to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BWilson_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
59
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kaitaia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

My visit to Whangarei Heads was work related; attending a meeting/seminar at the Northland Events Centre. A pleasant, leisurely 15 min drive to Kauri Villas, followed by dinner at the Parua Bay Tavern (3 mins) drive and a very comfortable nights sleep. An early morning walk on a lovely country road and a simply superb omelette for breakfast by Drew set me up well for the rest of the day.
Their hospitality was top-notch and they should be proud of what they have achieved with their renovations - a very beautiful home.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeeBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

On a trip around North Island to see friends and family, and stayed at Kauri Villas at the recommendation of a friend - what a gem! As you come into the grounds the house is pretty and full of character, but nothing prepares you for the view over Parua Bay... it was just breathtaking! The family (and v friendly dog!) were incredibly welcoming, and I was given a very cosy, comfortable room with ensuite shower room. I really enjoyed the food, which was always served with good humour and great attention to detail.

In fact I enjoyed my stay so much that I made a detour to stay another couple of nights after my travels. I can't recommend this place highly enough; it is a very special place, quiet and beautiful, with a very warm and friendly atmosphere, and I would love to go there again.

PS Tried to upload photos, but having a problem - will post some as soon as I can.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris58_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinar de Campoverde
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

I spent two very happy weeks with Drew and Susan. I was very well looked after, and enjoyed the informal atmosphere and excellent meals in a fantastic setting. As a bonus, Drew is a qualified fixed wing Microlight pilot, and he took me on several aerial sightseeing trips, including the Bay of Islands and Lake Taupo. I'm sure you could persuade him to do the same for you.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whangarei
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

Lovely setting amazing views in this beautiful villa with extremely large rooms.
Very hospitable hosts Susie and Drew made us feel relaxed and welcome.
This much more than a Bed and Breakfast.
We live locally and will recommend to all our friends and family as the place in stay whether for a couple or a group.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pemb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

Really nice place to stay. Owners made us dinner on the Friday night when we travelled up from Auckland and it was delicious and very reasonably priced. We were delayed by one hour due to traffic and this was no problem to our hosts. Very personable couple with lots of interesting stories to tell. Try Drew's english style marmalade - wonderful stuff. !
Nothing is too much trouble for this couple even down to stopping the grandfather clock chiming at night to ensure a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank restartconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusignac
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

While waiting for our hosts Susie and Drew to greet us, it gave us time to look at what must be one of the finest views in the world. We were welcomed into their wonderful family home, and saw the efforts of their hard works over a number of years, which they obviously enjoyed and passed on to their guests. The accommodation they offer is of a high quality, but with a home from home appeal, with little touches such as home made jams and maramalade, and their own produce from the land. Nothing was too much trouble and they took time to spend with us on what we should visit while in New Zealand. A definite must stay at again. Good luck Susie and Drew

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaffertyLusignac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangarei
11.0 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
5.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
8.2 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 35 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast
8.5 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
7.9 mi away
B&B By the Park
B&B By the Park
#2 of 32 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Villas

Property: Kauri Villas
Address: 73 Owhiwa Road | Parua Bay, Whangarei 0192, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self Contained Accommodation and B&B. At Kauri Villas we offer more than a comfortable bed and a delicious breakfast. Lovingly restored villas set in tranquil native bush with streams and waterfalls. Facilities include spa and 11m pool with stunning views of the Bay and extensive decks to sit and watch the sunsets. All rooms with en suite facilities. Activities include games room, animals to feed and bush walks. Evening meals and functions by arrangement. Our B&B together with our self contained accommodation, can host up to 18 guests. Great for groups. Please enquire via our website for group rates. Come and soak up the atmosphere that is Kauri Villas, the perfect location for rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kauri Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing