We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to stay”
Review of Kauri Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kauri Villas
Ranked #1 of 31 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

It was a very nice place to stay and drew and susie were very friendly.
We got some help in booking the next accommodation and also we got some good advise for our travelling up north.
Thanks,
Jildau & Mario from the Netherlands

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jildau m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Kauri Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 132 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed with my son for 2 nights in this stunning location. Susie and Drew have done a fantastic job in creating this B & B in a very scenic location.Lots to see and do in the area and the hosts make you feel at home. Lots of options of types of accommodation available to suit everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

After an exhausting 45 hour journey from Europe we received a warm welcome from Drew and Susie. What an outstanding location with breathtaking views over the bay ! Too much to write but in short: clean room, comfortable bed, refreshing pool, superb breakfast, delicious meals (in particular Susie's apple pie), and amazing bush walks created by Drew.
We also had the opportunity to see the game room with pool table and table tennis.
The house is full of history and reconstructed with great creative skills.
We learned so much about New Zealand from our conversation with Drew and Susie who show such enthusiasm and treated us as if we were their first guests. We are already planning our return.
Kauri Villa is truly a national treasure and a great advertisement for New Zealand hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but we prefer the lodge with stunning views
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Drew and Susie developed this wonderful B&B with a view unmatched by few places we've been. My wife and I arrived in Auckland at 430am.....rented a car and were up here by 1030......well before checkin. Drew and Susie took it in stride....welcomed us and had us in our wonderful room in 15 minutes. For the three nights we stayed here, the service, food, attraction advice was excellent. If you stay here you will have made the right choice.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house....a charming room worth asking for
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BostonPete1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Kauri Villas sits on top of a small hill overlooking Parua Bay, a quiet and beautiful location. It is a short (15min) drive from Whangarei, ca 20 min drive to Ocean Beach and lots of short and long walking/hiking tracks in the vicinity.

We stayed for three nights over xmas 2012 and had a wonderful time. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the breakfast, the breakfast was really, really great! I do love homemade jams/marmalades and Drew's were super great!

Susie and Drew made us feel welcome and helped us to make the most of our stay. We loved the house, the people, the dog, the cats, the breakfast, couldn't have been better.

I recommend staying at least 3 nights, there's so much to see and do in the often underrated Whangarei/Whangarei Heads (and the Tutukaka Coast to the North) area. I can also recommend the Parua Bay Tavern just down the road for decent meals.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank autobotBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The place to stay, the rooms were beautiful , food great and people very friendly.
Even enjoyed the swimmingpool.We stayed with Drew and Susie for 2 nights and found them to be incredible hosts. While sharing their home, acreage and view; we were re-energized for the rest of our trip. The sleep was wonderful and the breakfast outstanding with more food than either of us needed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamashasanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at Kauri Villas as a group of friends coming over as myself and my (now) husband were getting married. Drew and Susie were great hosts and helped us out with anything they could, Drew even gave me a jar of his yummy marmalade that he makes but (which I think I left it on the windowsill). Great place with stunning views from the deck/pool area, equipped with washing and drying facilities and even a "man cave" with a pool table and ping pong. The Parua Bay Tav is barely a minute down the road and I heard some great stories about Susie's cooking which they also offer to all guests. Would definitely recommend for anyone to stay here if they are in the area, I could imagine that it would be even more spectacular in the warmer months.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangarei
10.9 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
640 reviews
9.4 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
54 reviews
5.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
8.2 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
293 reviews
8.5 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Villas

Address: 73 Owhiwa Road | Parua Bay, Whangarei 0192, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range: $132 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauri Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauri Villas, centrally located between Whangarei township and Whangarei Heads, allows travellers the perfect home base for exploring the countless bays, beaches and scenic vistas in the Northland region. – Truly the jewel in the crown of Northland. The original villa was built as a farmhouse in 1870. A second 1920’s villa was moved onsite, and joined to the original farmhouse. Featuring traditional kauri wooden floors and beams, 12′ ceilings, and wrap around verandas echoing the charm of a bygone era, all while offering breathtaking views overlooking Parua Bay, the surrounding countryside and the picturesque Poor Knights Islands. After a day of adventuring, guests will want to relax by the pool, explore our twelve acres including a 1 km loop track through beautiful native bush, past waterfalls, leading down to the Kohinui stream, or ease tired muscles in our jacuzzi spa pool all while taking in the breathtaking views. In the evening, pop down to the Parua Bay Tavern just 2km away, for great food from the famous classic menu. Or allow your hostesses to use their culinary skills to create a home cooked meal especially for you. The Colonial Suite provides two spacious bedrooms, each with large picture windows overlooking the bay, a bathroom with an old fashioned claw foot bath, modern shower, luxurious heated towel rail and underfloor heating. Guests staying here will also appreciate their own living area, the perfect place to cozy up with a book and a cup of tea. The Magnolia suite is well suited to families, with two adjoining bedrooms and an en-suite bathroom. The large living area has a pianola, and a toy corner for the children. Enjoy watching a movie on the large screen TV from our selection of DVD’s. Larger groups will appreciate our self contained Kohinui lodge. The lodge features four bedrooms, a large central living area with TV, DVD, oven, hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washing machine. With 3 bathrooms and 4 toilets, what more could you want? Our games room provides a place to gather in the evening or on rainy days. With table tennis, pool table, foosball and darts as well as a CD player and a large selection of retro CD’s to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Kauri Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing