We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull place and wonderfull people”
Review of Kauri Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kauri Villas
Ranked #1 of 31 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The place to stay, the rooms were beautiful , food great and people very friendly.
Even enjoyed the swimmingpool.We stayed with Drew and Susie for 2 nights and found them to be incredible hosts. While sharing their home, acreage and view; we were re-energized for the rest of our trip. The sleep was wonderful and the breakfast outstanding with more food than either of us needed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamashasanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Kauri Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 132 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at Kauri Villas as a group of friends coming over as myself and my (now) husband were getting married. Drew and Susie were great hosts and helped us out with anything they could, Drew even gave me a jar of his yummy marmalade that he makes but (which I think I left it on the windowsill). Great place with stunning views from the deck/pool area, equipped with washing and drying facilities and even a "man cave" with a pool table and ping pong. The Parua Bay Tav is barely a minute down the road and I heard some great stories about Susie's cooking which they also offer to all guests. Would definitely recommend for anyone to stay here if they are in the area, I could imagine that it would be even more spectacular in the warmer months.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed with Drew and Susie for a short 2 nights and found them to be incredible hosts. While sharing their home, acreage and view; we were re-energized for the rest of our trip. The sleep was wonderful and the breakfast outstanding with more food than either of us needed. We wanted to stay here longer to simply sit and enjoy the environs.

Room Tip: We stayed in an ensuite room at the front of the house which was wonderful. Although there is no fit...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate4758349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaurivillas, Owner at Kauri Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure having you!
I just wanted to respond to a warning in an earlier review as we now DO take VISA and Mastercard payments, though there is a 1.8% transaction charge. Sorry!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at Kauri Villas whilst on a work trip and I was hosting a Colleague from Western Australia and what an intro to Aotearoa. I chose Kauri Villas over a place in town because I wanted a place to allow creative conversations. It was a great choice!

It is a lovely place in a fantastic spot. The views are amazing and the accommodation excellent. The owner, Drew, went out of his way to make us welcome. We stayed in the Lodge a self contained unit and this was great with everything you needed and a cozy homely feel. The accommodation in the main house looked lovely and it
was a great venue for a social event we held which Drew very kindly let us hold there. The breakfasts where ample with fresh baked bread every day. Kauri Villas also has great facilities such as a swimming pool and a "man cave" with full size snooker table and ping pong - great for those wet days or just unwinding at the end of the day. The location is great 20 mins drive from town, close to a nice local pub at Parua Bay and close to the spectacular Whangarei Heads and Bream Heads nature reserve. It is also located in kiwi country thanks to the great work of the Whangarei Heads Landcare Forums Backyard Kiwi project.
I would definitely recommend Kauri Villas and fully intend to revisit when not in a work capacity to better enjoy the locale and facilities.

Marc

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaurivillas, Owner at Kauri Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Without wanting to sound pedantic I should point out that the snooker table isn't full size! It's an 8ft single slate table, and I have snooker, pool and billiard balls for it. There's also a dart board, table tennis table and a small table football game in the 'man cave'. Great for the occasional rainy day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hosts Drew and Susie are very friendly and helpful. I booked the lodge about 4 months ahead of our arrival on Aug. 17. Before we visited there, Drew and Susie had been keeping contact with me and had provided a lot of useful information including the weather, the restaurant/cafe, the driving route from Auckland to the villas...etc. Anyway, all the correspondences made us feel like we were going to visit old friends and stay with them.
Beds are very comfortable and breakfasts are yummy! Especially the jam, I wish I brought back a big box of all kinds of jam!
Kauri Villas made a perfect start to our annual family trip!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie-taipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaurivillas, Owner at Kauri Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. You were most welcome! Yes, we enjoy making our own jams and preserves, made from our own fruit whenever possible. We've even planted our own Seville Orange trees which are now producing! We'll give you some jam to take home next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This was a fantastic place to stay. We booked a single room for three nights, and because the room next door was available, we were given access to another bedroom as well as the connecting living room. The hosts Susie and Drew are fantastic. Accommodating and friendly, there was nothing that we asked that seemed a bother. We went scuba diving while we were in the area, and Drew booked it for us with no hassle. We even used the pool and hot tub, which were fantastic! A great view and talkative sheep with easy access to the surrounding coast, this was a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red_Dog_Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

A much belated review on our experience at kauri Villas. We arrived on Xmas eve and had a wonderful stay over xmas with Drew and Susie. Everything that has been written is true. It is a beautifully maintained house with stunning views and a jacuzzi that looks across in to the sunset. They are very warm and welcoming and went out of their way to let us use all facilities, and gave us the best advice on the area.
We woke up on xmas day to a beautifully arranged breakfast with xmas decorations / chocolates, xmas cake and not to mention a lovely breakfast. We will never forget our special xmas at Kauri Villas and the warm hospitality we had for our first xmas away from home. We hope to be back!
Farah and Sheriff

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montyas_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangarei
10.9 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
640 reviews
9.4 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
54 reviews
5.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
8.2 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
293 reviews
8.5 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Villas

Address: 73 Owhiwa Road | Parua Bay, Whangarei 0192, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range: $132 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauri Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauri Villas, centrally located between Whangarei township and Whangarei Heads, allows travellers the perfect home base for exploring the countless bays, beaches and scenic vistas in the Northland region. – Truly the jewel in the crown of Northland. The original villa was built as a farmhouse in 1870. A second 1920’s villa was moved onsite, and joined to the original farmhouse. Featuring traditional kauri wooden floors and beams, 12′ ceilings, and wrap around verandas echoing the charm of a bygone era, all while offering breathtaking views overlooking Parua Bay, the surrounding countryside and the picturesque Poor Knights Islands. After a day of adventuring, guests will want to relax by the pool, explore our twelve acres including a 1 km loop track through beautiful native bush, past waterfalls, leading down to the Kohinui stream, or ease tired muscles in our jacuzzi spa pool all while taking in the breathtaking views. In the evening, pop down to the Parua Bay Tavern just 2km away, for great food from the famous classic menu. Or allow your hostesses to use their culinary skills to create a home cooked meal especially for you. The Colonial Suite provides two spacious bedrooms, each with large picture windows overlooking the bay, a bathroom with an old fashioned claw foot bath, modern shower, luxurious heated towel rail and underfloor heating. Guests staying here will also appreciate their own living area, the perfect place to cozy up with a book and a cup of tea. The Magnolia suite is well suited to families, with two adjoining bedrooms and an en-suite bathroom. The large living area has a pianola, and a toy corner for the children. Enjoy watching a movie on the large screen TV from our selection of DVD’s. Larger groups will appreciate our self contained Kohinui lodge. The lodge features four bedrooms, a large central living area with TV, DVD, oven, hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washing machine. With 3 bathrooms and 4 toilets, what more could you want? Our games room provides a place to gather in the evening or on rainy days. With table tennis, pool table, foosball and darts as well as a CD player and a large selection of retro CD’s to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kauri Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing