We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to a beaut holiday”
Review of Kauri Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kauri Villas
Ranked #1 of 31 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We had a short but very pleasant stay in NZ recently and thought we'd like to finish with a bit of a treat so chose Kauri Villas. We were so pleased we did. There is not much we can add, since this accommodation already rates very highly on TA, but it is so good it is worth reiterating that the hosts are extremely helpful (but definitely know when to give you your space and privacy - they have this balance down to a fine art), the accommodation itself is way beyond comfy, the meals really beautifully cooked, and the area in which the B&B is situated is beautiful and less known than you would expect so you can have the best of views, walks and outdoor activities without feeling like you are in a tourist trap.

Suzie and Drew were very generous with everything and there are plenty of treats and special things included. We had barely arrived and put down our gear when we were invited to have afternoon tea on their verandah, from where there was a spectacular view. Drew pointed out a native bird in one of the trees and told us about it. We chose to have our dinner there on the first night and this was very worthwhile, not just for the lovely food, beautifully prepared, but it also gave us a chance to hear some of Susie and Drew's stories and adventures - not that they take the spotlight, far from it.

The home itself was lovely, making good use of exquisite local timbers in the floorboards and elsewhere. It is a traditional old home, beautifully restored - or so it seemed. We didn't actually discuss to what degree it had been done up, but certainly it was a high level of comfort that we enjoyed. We stayed in the Villa room that had a separate lounge room. Our bed was very comfy and high quality and we could not think of one thing that we wanted for. There were plenty of local walks (including some on the property itself) and places worth visiting in the Parua Bay/Whangarei/Whangarei Heads area. We climbed Mt Manaia (I think that's how it was spelt) and that was fantastic and well worth doing and yet was not too far away from KV B&B.

All in all, a great stay that will stay with us for many years to come and is bound to pop up every time we talk about favourite places we have stayed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderlustWend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Kauri Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 132 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed for two nights in Oct 2011. Perfect spot with a lovely view. Awesome welcome; a perfect gentleman with plenty of good stories to share. An excellent choice for starting our NZ trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miguel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed at Kauri Villas for the last two days of our NZ trip. It turned out to be an excellent choice. We were encouraged to book this place owing to their great ratings on Trip Advisor and the stay certainly lived up to our expectations.

The Villa is on a small hill overlooking the Whangarei Bay and you have excellent views from their deck. It is very well equipped and the interiors are very tastefully done.

Our hosts Drew and Susie were simply awesome. Great people to interact with. I would definitely recommend having dinner with them at least once. The food was great. Do try their marmalades ...

The review is incomplete without a mention about their pets. The indoor cat, the outdoor cat and Rimi their adorable pet dog!

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms in the main Villa. They are the right choice if you don't plan to cook.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apteamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Lovely couple running this beautiful traditional villa in paradise.

And those bacon slices were fantastic!

Thanks for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leefluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Truly amazing hospitality. I stayed at Kauri villas to take part in an archery tournament being held at the local club, i have been there at least three times now for lesser tournaments. and am planning another trip (not archery related) just to enjoy Drew and Suzy's company and hospitality. The ingredients in the food i was served were almost all home made and were absolutely delicious. Although my tournament had a very early start Drew and Suzy were up early in the morning preparing my bacon and eggs.
I would strongly recommend Kauri villas to any and all who may find themselves in that area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

A very high standard of accommodation, spotlessly clean and great food. The views from Kauri Villas were stunning, and Susie and Drew were great hosts. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stunning location, stunning view, gorgeous spa with a great clear night sky & very friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaurivillas, Owner at Kauri Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Oops! I think your finger slipped off the 5 star button for the overview! Still, it's always good to read the reviews that are below 'Excellent'; particularly when they are this good! Drew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangarei
10.9 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
640 reviews
9.4 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
54 reviews
5.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
8.2 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
293 reviews
8.5 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Villas

Address: 73 Owhiwa Road | Parua Bay, Whangarei 0192, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range: $132 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauri Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauri Villas, centrally located between Whangarei township and Whangarei Heads, allows travellers the perfect home base for exploring the countless bays, beaches and scenic vistas in the Northland region. – Truly the jewel in the crown of Northland. The original villa was built as a farmhouse in 1870. A second 1920’s villa was moved onsite, and joined to the original farmhouse. Featuring traditional kauri wooden floors and beams, 12′ ceilings, and wrap around verandas echoing the charm of a bygone era, all while offering breathtaking views overlooking Parua Bay, the surrounding countryside and the picturesque Poor Knights Islands. After a day of adventuring, guests will want to relax by the pool, explore our twelve acres including a 1 km loop track through beautiful native bush, past waterfalls, leading down to the Kohinui stream, or ease tired muscles in our jacuzzi spa pool all while taking in the breathtaking views. In the evening, pop down to the Parua Bay Tavern just 2km away, for great food from the famous classic menu. Or allow your hostesses to use their culinary skills to create a home cooked meal especially for you. The Colonial Suite provides two spacious bedrooms, each with large picture windows overlooking the bay, a bathroom with an old fashioned claw foot bath, modern shower, luxurious heated towel rail and underfloor heating. Guests staying here will also appreciate their own living area, the perfect place to cozy up with a book and a cup of tea. The Magnolia suite is well suited to families, with two adjoining bedrooms and an en-suite bathroom. The large living area has a pianola, and a toy corner for the children. Enjoy watching a movie on the large screen TV from our selection of DVD’s. Larger groups will appreciate our self contained Kohinui lodge. The lodge features four bedrooms, a large central living area with TV, DVD, oven, hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washing machine. With 3 bathrooms and 4 toilets, what more could you want? Our games room provides a place to gather in the evening or on rainy days. With table tennis, pool table, foosball and darts as well as a CD player and a large selection of retro CD’s to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Kauri Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing