We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a fun day out!”

Kamo Wildlife Sanctuary
Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Always a fun day out!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I love taking the kids here for a tour, especially the feeding tour. The animals are more interactive during feeding time. We also had a private tour with Craig, the Lion Man, which was amazing!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ijoymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    36
    11
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful big cats”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful experience. So many beautiful rare cats. If you're ever in New Zealand this is a must see.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nitassha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matamata, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected Find”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stumbled upon this gem after seeing some signs for it and then noticing it listed in a brochure. A one of a kind opportunity to see a variety of large cat species, including lions, white lions, tigers, white tigers, and a black leopard. The tour guide was very friendly and made the experience completely worth the money. Was extra special to see Zion himself (aka Aslan from Narnia!) and his wifey, Shakira. The only downfall is that all the enclosures are chain link fence, which makes taking photographs difficult.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fab trip”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I have always wanted to visit the park since watching 'The Lion Man' on TV, so we included a visit as part of our holiday north.
The weather was a bit rainy but we were all offered umbrellas to take around with us. We did the 'Feeding tour' and our guide was Selina, she was really enthusiastic about the cats and had a ton of knowledge.
Not cheap, but well worth it for the close up experiences with these beautiful creatures, my personal faves being the white tigers.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tanya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

What an amazing collection of beautiful animals, such a surprise to see them in such a lovely environment, so close to the city.
Our guide, Georgie was great and obviously really love the big cats!
I would highly recommend this for all ages, a beautiful experience and one we would do again very soon!
I will bring all my overseas friends here from now on, it is well worth the drive to Whangerei.
Happy and proud we have someone who cares this much in little old NZ!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kamo Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Kamo Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing