We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Quiet and Peaceful”
Review of Little Earth Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Earth Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“So Quiet and Peaceful”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed one night in August 2010 in this lovely, quiet and very clean hostel just out of Whangarei, where we would have had the best night sleep in all our trip around New Zealand, if the noisy German couple staying next door hadn't been so loud at night. (Walls are pretty thin)
The location and scenery are pretty amazing, and a walk around to Abbey Caves (with gear kindly lent by the hostel owners) is simply the best way to start the day! Don't miss it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Varanasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    18
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
44
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We'd booked from the Whangerei I-Site and followed the directions out from town, finally along a winding rural road. When we reached the driveway ... whoa.... down, down, down. Thank heavens it was light. The setting was lovely, the double room quite comfortable. There is a bathroom with shower, as well as a separate toilet in the main building. Apparently there is also another shower somewhere outside. It really could have used another toilet/shower to accommodate all the rooms.

The kitchen and sitting area are in a nearby building. They were adequate, pretty typical for backpackers accommodation. Our double had a made up bed but no towels. Apparently towels are provided for an additional charge. Unfortunately, this was the first BBH hostel we'd stayed at where towels were not provided free, so we didn't realize that until long after the office was closed .... a minor inconvenience but annoying.

Owners were friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sucre, Bolivia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

fab location, beautiful decor, good kitchen and living area, spotless, very eco-conscious, great dog, gorgeous mini ponies, right by Abbey caves, idyllic spot.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahCharnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2010

The furniture in the rooms comes from Bali. Very quiet, nice view from the rooms. Very friendly staff. Clean. Charming.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisskiwi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Great for back packers with really helpful staff in a beautiful setting. Modern clean rooms with all the amenities required. And of course the price - an absolute bargain.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham, England
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We really enjoyed staying at Little Earth. The rooms and the beds were excellent so we both had a great nights sleep. It is also located right next to the Abbey Caves so you can explore these for free and see thousands of glow-worms. We stayed there as we were diving at the Poor Knights so its kind of on the way.
The hostel is situated in the countryside about 10 mins drive from Whangarei centre.
We would both highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bukkastukka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
1.8 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
2.0 mi away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
3.8 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.8 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
140 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#4 of 34 in Whangarei
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Earth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Earth Lodge

Property: Little Earth Lodge
Address: 85 Abbey Caves Road, Whangarei 0175, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 6km from Whangarei in a tranquil valley setting, Little Earth Lodge is a small, purpose hostel that offers travellers quality rooms and cabins for reasonable rates. Set in beautiful countryside it is Lonely Planet's "Pick" of Whangarei and has a high BBH rating. The unique modern house has spacious, clean rooms, large peaceful gardens and breathtaking valley views. A luxurious hostel featuring comfortable beds for a great nights sleep. Free wireless internet (Wi-Fi) in every room. A large well equipped kitchen and cosy lounge for guests. Explore the spectacular Abbey Caves just next to the Lodge and see thousands of Glow Worms, a must see for any traveller. Wander in the Rock Forest in the Abbey Caves Reserve and imagine you are in Middle Earth. Nearby is the stunning A H Reed Kauri forest and the awesome walk to Whangarei Falls. Daily dive and snorkel tours to the Poor Knights Islands. Book your dive with us and receive a discount on your room. Well travelled and friendly hosts David and Polly, and Muttie the dog, wait to welcome you to this 'peace' of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Little Earth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing