We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina Court Motels And Apartments
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Reviewed December 24, 2011

I booked on line because of the motel's location & comments from TripAdvisor.

Met only Anne, whose accent I mistook for the UK, not Danish. She could not have been more obliging.

Motel is simple but clean. Location is an easy walk to town.

I would recommend Marina Court to others as value for $$, with a really nice owner.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waggersting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMarina, Owner at Marina Court Motels And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. Yes that is exactly what Marina Court is : simple and clean :-)
It is an old motel in great need for an update and we are working on it. In the meantime we take great pains to keep it very clean and tidy.
...and yes, we are both Danish...we are climate refugees ;-)
Kind regards
Ove and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Marina Court Motels And Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2011

The Marina Court looks simple from the outside and its rooms are basic, but it is exceptionally clean and comfortable and grew on us in the 3 weeks we were there. We enjoyed it very much. The location along the River and near yacht harbors is great, within walking distance of the entertainment centers of Whangarei. The real gem is the hosts/owners Ove and Anne, who are both extremely personable and were helpful and accommodating with every detail.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelcspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMarina, Owner at Marina Court Motels And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Thank you very much for those kind words :-) You make us blush!!
We enjoy having people on the longer stays as we get to know them and can have a chat sometimes. It is easy to be nice to nice people ;-)
Kind regards
Ove and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We needed a motel for one night as we headed north to the Bay of Islands and although it looks a bit tired from the outside, we decided to try the Marina Court. We were pleasantly surprised by the experience.

The welcome was warm, helpful and good natured and the one bedroom unit we were given was surprisingly roomy and very tidy, We had a first floor room containing everything one would expect in such a room. And... it's very conveniently located near the town basin.

The only downside is, being on the main road the traffic noise was fairly constant, but not unbearable.

The guest laundry was appreciated as was the free Wi Fi.

All in all a very pleasant and economic experience.

Room Tip: Get a room towards the rear to avoid traffic noise
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMarina, Owner at Marina Court Motels And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

We are always very pleased when guests have enjoyed their stay and we especially thank you for taking time to write a review. We are happy to be able to offer the spacious units at a budget price and we are working on the dated decor ;-).
We are expecting the new harbour crossing will divert much of the traffic away from the road in front of the motel . Today we received the good news that the construction will begin November 28th and the ( lifting-) bridge is expected to be finished mid 2013.
Thank you again, for your visit and your review.
Kind regards from Ove and Anne Kjaer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We live aboard a sail boat but could not live aboard while having work done,which turned out to be 3 months of work!
MARINA COURT was the perfect place to live. EXTREMELY CLEAN, comfortable beds,tv and reading lamps,plus the Kitchen had everything you would need AND if not Anne and Ove Kjaer made sure they would get it for you. The staff at this motel is very helpful and friendly as well and willingly helped us whenever we needed.
The Kjaers offer fantastic service, we extended out stay 4 times and they did all they could to accommodate us. In addition they allowed us to store a few things in their shed. Anne is a wealth of TRAVEL INFORMATION and the couple have many many pamphlets and maps for their guests. The motel also offers a laundry room with books to swap and/or share. High speed internet is available and works very well.
The motel is in a GREAT LOCATION, not having a car we could easily walk to to town and MANY restaurants& food stores. Banks and post offices are also close in town.. The grounds are immaculate with a nice grilling and eating area,OVERLOOKING A MARINA ,There are even 2 resident geese to talk to you!
This is a fabulous place to stay ,relax and use as a base to site see.. ENJOY we did

Kathy Martin-Farley
Neil Farley
S/V Attitude

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMarina, Owner at Marina Court Motels And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2011

Thank you so much for your response. We hope to see you back in the future when we have accomplished more in our much needed upgrade. In the meantime we will rely on cleanliness, service and low price for happy customers.
Thank you
Ove and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Gilles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Rummen på övre planet är både ljusa och trevliga.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
0.9 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
0.5 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
2.7 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#25 of 34 in Whangarei
35 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
1.4 mi away
Casa Blanca Motel
Casa Blanca Motel
#24 of 34 in Whangarei
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Court Motels And Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Court Motels And Apartments

Address: 56 Riverside Drive | Riverside, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range: $69 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Court Motels And Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Court is a traditional Kiwi-style motel with 1 and 2-bedroom units as well as open plan studio units, all with self contained kitchenette facilities with a price to suit everyone. Marina Court Motel offers modest and comfortable accommodation, with a splash of brand new thrown in, conveniently located a flat 15 minute walk from the Town Basin and city centre on the edge of the Hatea River, the closest motel to the Whangarei Airport and adjacent to the Riverside Marina, offering a perfect opportunity to rest your sea legs should your boat need some tender loving care. Free WiFi, a BBQ garden area and coin operated laundry on site. Marina Court is a great place to base yourself to explore the rest of Northland and we are very happy to help you with ideas on what to do while in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Marina Court Motels And Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing