We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highest Recommendation”
Review of Kensington Motel

Kensington Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kensington Motel
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Over the past two years our extened family has been staying at the Kensington Motel on a semi regular basis.
The Management, Staff and facility have consistantly been of the highest standard - therefore we have no hesitation in recommending this establishment to other travellers.
Kensington Motel ticks all the boxes for us - friendly, helpful & informative management and staff; clean, comfortable and well appointed units, good location (includes bus route), exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pukegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Kensington Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you so much for such a positive review. It has been great to get to know you and your family over the last few years and we look forward to catching up at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 58 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

My husband and I along with our two friends were on our way to Bay of Islands. It was terrible weather, the roads flooded and couldn't get through. Came back to Whangerie and found the Kensington Motel. The Owner/Mangager was so helpful and just couldn't do enough for us. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to everyone. We had a two bedroom unit, which was clean and comfortable and very roomy. I can't say enough good about The Kensington.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Kensington Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We try hard to assist our guests whenever we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Have stayed at the Kensington Motel a number of times now; with a group of friends, on my own, and with family. I would recommend it to anyone (especially the budget-minded) as a great place to stay. The rooms are clean, comfortable and equipped with all the necessities. The owners are attentive and so helpful, and the central location is great. I am a frequent visitor to Whangarei, and this is my 1st choice of motels.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Kensington Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your very positive feedback. We are the closest motel to the ASB Stadium and within walking distance to Countdown Supermarket, Kensington Tavern and half a dozen other eating establishments. Handy to the CBD, Town Basin and easy access to SHW1.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed here as we just wanted somewhere close to where our work function was being held. Was a very large room for a studio and had a full kitchen, microwave, single bed, either a small queen or a double and a couch. Good shower pressure! Bed was a bit uncomfy and didnt get that good a sleep. and the odd car woke us up on the main road. But being one of the cheapest motels in whangarei i found it good value for money. The manager was lovely too, making sure we were happy with everything when we arrived and explaining the channels on the TV.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyayde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Kensington Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. As a result we have replaced the bed in this unit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CZinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ジハズ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
Thank muriel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
1.3 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
55 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
#5 of 34 in Whangarei
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#4 of 34 in Whangarei
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Continental Motel
Continental Motel
#14 of 34 in Whangarei
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stonehaven Motel
Stonehaven Motel
#8 of 34 in Whangarei
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel Six
Motel Six
#15 of 34 in Whangarei
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Motel

Address: 85-87 Kamo Road | Kensington, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range: $76 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kensington Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing