We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and good value”
Review of Stonehaven Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stonehaven Motel
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed there for two days in March on a holiday trip.

The facility is on average. It is a bid old but in general it is ok. The hotel comes with full set of kitchenette. But it looks like it has not been used so that you could always find bugs inside.

The host are very friendly and gave us suggestion to look around.

The motel is about the walking discuss to the New World super market. It is also just a few minutes drive to the largest town in the bay island area.

The motel offers free wifi.

As other people pointed out the car park is the biggest issue and it is hard to make U turns due to the limited space. If you came late you would have to park it outside.

Room Tip: When you use the kitchenette make sure you wash everything you would use carefully. there are some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind remarks,we appreciate your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 66 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

As its been said by previous reviews, yes this is an older property. However, it's in really good condition.
Absolutely, fantastic, top notch customer service. The hosts could not have done more, and very accommodating.
The room I had was very clean and tidy (means a lot to me). Good amenities, and the towels were nice and big. Bed was comfortable and just the way I like them. Very good in room wifi too! Quick and easy to hook up to. Location is great and very close to major supermarket and close to centre of town.
Only thing I can make it up to 5 stars for is the car parking. While secure and well of the street, it's a bit cramped due to the size of the property.
Have stayed in much worse that charge much more! This place is a little gem

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for your comments , our aim is to please and we value your custom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Yes the decor is a little dated and could do with an update but then Again we didn't sit around wanting to stare at the decor either!
The service (Dawn) is with a smile and a very friendly attitude, free wifi, off street parking, we stayed in the 1 bedroom unit, 1 night upstairs and was very roomy and old style welcoming.
Everything is kept to a very, very clean standard and would recommend this place even for extended stay, has oven & stovetop to cook on site.
safe travels!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank macka28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

thanks for for your comments, our guests are important to us and we are continuing to make improvements were necessary, regards from management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This motel would benefit from an update but it is clean and good value for money. One of the bowls was chipped but thats the only criticism I could make. The owner was very friendly and helpful directing us to local attractions . I would stay here again .

Room Tip: Our room was close to the road but there wasnt any great traffic noise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for your review, your comments are appreciated and help us to make improvements that are benificial to our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I was impressed with the shiny pots - even the bottoms and all the shiny silver tapware, etc in the bathroom. The whole unit could not have felt cleaner. Although the decor was not what I would have chosen it was obviously done with thought, e.g. the lumbar roll in a chair.
The TV was the only good flat screen we had come across on this holiday (staying at 5 different places) so it was really appreciated. We wished we had booked for 2 nights as there was more to see and do than we had allowed time for. Oh well, one we hope to return :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon1969_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

very nice service. We had trouble with our TV & it was attended to without any fuss. Nice flat screen TV & Good location close to town ect. Older motel as it seems most are in Whangarei. Clean & tidy.
In winter cold outside because facing west.
No central heating just a 2 bar heater which was adaquate.
The Sky channels consist of sport 1 sport 2 & 1 movie.I found this dissappointing & would know next time to ask how many channels are available before booking.
We were a 3. 1 double & 1 single bed. The unit was a bit cramped for 3.
Fine for a stop over but would not wish to spend more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bakerauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Great little stopping place. My room was a little dated but spotlessly clean and well appointed with comfy bed, full kitchen, flat screen tv, and free internet. Cheerful and helpful owner made me feel very welcome. Short walk to local shops & cafes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
1.6 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
3.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
1.6 mi away
Motel Villa Del Rio
Motel Villa Del Rio
#3 of 34 in Whangarei
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#4 of 34 in Whangarei
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehaven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehaven Motel

Address: 30 Mill Road | Regent, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range: $76 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonehaven Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area away from the main roads. Close to supermarkets, restaurants and a short 15 minute walk to the CBD. We offer free wifi and SKY Guest Select TV 55+ channels. Beautiful bush walks of Mt Parihaka and the Hatea river are just around the corner. Clean, comfortable, well priced and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stonehaven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing