We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch was enjoyable at Amici!”
Review of Amici

Amici
Ranked #35 of 130 Restaurants in Whangarei
Cuisines: Diner, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lunch was enjoyable at Amici!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

There are so many restaurants to choose from but glad we stopped in for a simple lunch. Hubby was pleased with his pizza and I enjoyed my calamari salad. They offer lunch specials and the menu looks pretty good. Didn't have room for gelato but it looked delicious!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poohshek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    48
    21
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Italian wine and food worth the effort”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Last night, like most Friday nights, we headed for Amici's for a relaxing evening hosted by Ange.

With a couple of wines, Grillo for my wife and a Chianti for myself, we had the garlic pizza bread starter, just a small one and then the special pizza, spicey sausage, bacon and a sparing amount of cheese, absolutey delicious on their own pizza bases.

Danny arrived to play some quiet guitar music to keep us entertained. Other evenings he is joined by a mandolin player and or other musicians and this just adds ro the Italian flavour of this fine establishment. We keep going back so it must be very good and the staff always look after us so we highly recommend spending an evening here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Balitravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, Northland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Value Restaurant”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Have been here a couple of times in previous years and had pretty good food - had been slightly put off going back for a while due to slightly mixed comments & reviews that I had read.
Decided to give Amici another go as it is a fantastic location, with a lovely courtyard area and a really good value and varied menu.
Very glad we did as we had a really excellent meal and good service - will definitely be back

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANDYCHEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Steak eating kiwi man says he is going back”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We really enjoyed our Amici experience while in Whangarei, the staff and service were top notch, even with two big groups dining. They took us without a booking with absolutely no problem on what looked like a very busy night.

The food however is why my "steak eating kiwi man", says he will be going back, it was very, very good. Among other things we both had the seafood marinara, which was just lovely. Although we searched we didnt find another meal like this on our trip to the upper north, the flavour was spot on and it wasnt "heavy" at all.
We both left very satisfied.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank staynova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Yes, sometimes there can be a wait, but the food is great.

Have eaten here a handful of times over the last couple of years, in both small parties and a larger function.

I really like the decor and the staff are normally welcoming and efficient.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller201088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amici also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing