We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Brantome Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brantome Villa
Ranked #10 of 30 Whangarei B&B and Inns
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We just enjoyed a two night stay, and very much enjoyed our weekend staying at Brantome Villa. Our suite was very well appointed, the hosts very very welcoming and made our stay in Whangarei a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brantomevilla, Owner at Brantome Villa, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Hi there Mr Clayton, Thank you so very much for your tripadvisor feed back, it's very much apreciated. Also we would like to thank you for booking your friends in for a belated Christmas treat, Roger & I loved having you guy's here, hope you all had a good journey home.

Warm regards Valerie & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
50
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here on our wedding night and absolutely loved it . They are incredible hosts and very friendly, Loved our night there with an amazing Breakfast in the morning.Absolutely stunning rooms. Definately recommend staying here you will not be disappointed! Thanks Guys

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brantomevilla, Owner at Brantome Villa, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Brayden & Nicole, It was a pleasure to have you stay here for your honeymoon, you are such a lovely young couple. Thank you for taking the time to place your comments on tripadvisor, Roger & I do appreciate you taking the time, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Maybe we will see you again for your anniversary... Take care enjoy married life.

Warm regards Valerie & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Unfortunately we only had 1 night as it was a lovely setting, the rooms were excellent (loved the bed!) - they were so comfortable, clean and spacious. Both Valerie and Roger were great hosts, they certainly made you feel very welome. Food and wine excellent - thanks V & R. I would have no hesitation in recommending Brantome Villa - if it wasn't the vegetation, you would think you are in France!

Room Tip: They are all good. All rooms are separate from lounge area and all have fabulous bathrooms with ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaniteKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brantomevilla, Owner at Brantome Villa, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear BrisbaniteKiwis,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely comments on TripAdvisor, we do appreciate it so much. Yes, what a shame it was only 1 night, check-out our specials maybe next time stay longer...
We are sure you would enjoy staying in any-one of the three suite's; all having their own bedroom, lounge & own entrance, the Lakeview Suite's are ideal for two couples as they have an interlocking internal door, then they can all use the one front door, otherwise the Lakeview Garden Suite & the Lakeview Suite do have their own separate entrance.
We look forward to seeing you again one day, Warmest regards Valerie & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at Brantome for two wonderful nights. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and fully equipped (including excellent bathroom facilities). The setting is beautiful, and it's very peaceful to sit on the deck looking down to the lake with a glass of wine. To top it all off, Roger and Valerie were excellent hosts, and catered for all of our needs. We will return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brantomevilla, Owner at Brantome Villa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear S H,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor, my apologies for my delay in responding. It was very kind of you to take the time to write such a lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Brantome Villa.
Sitting on the deck with a glass of wine watching the sun go down is certainly the best place to be in the evening!
We look forward to seeing you again oneday, (do check out our specials page on our website before you book) have a wonderful Christmas and New Year.
Warm regards
Valerie & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Business or pleasure, what a beautiful place to stay. Outstanding company, extraordinarily first class absolutely impeccable service. Attention to detail in every aspect of this beyond first class B&B. I'll certainly stay their again given any opertunity. Miss this place and you have just missed an absolute jewel in the Northland area of the North Island of New Zealand.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desmosedici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brantomevilla, Owner at Brantome Villa, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Desmosedici,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a response on TripAdvisor, and thank you for your very kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Brantome Villa.

Roger & I hope that we will see you again oneday.

Warmest regards

Valerie & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed at Brantome Villa in March for 5 nights as part of my work trip.Overall I thoroughly enjoyed it my stay. The hosts were lovely, rooms were clean and food was beautiful. The location was great, it felt secluded and relaxing and I was only 10 minutes away from the city centre. The only negative was the walls do seem paper thin, one night there was guests in the room next to me and i could hear everything. Next time I visit Brantome Villa I hope its for leisure not work so I can explore what other things Whangarei has to offer. Thanks Valarie and Rodger for such an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brantomevilla, Owner at Brantome Villa, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Lisa J,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on tripadvisor, We are sorry to hear you were disturbed by noise, we have turned both King rooms into a luxury suite, to avoid this in future. Roger & I are very glad to hear that your overall stay at Brantome Villa was positive and you felt like you were on holiday instead of work. We look forward to seeing you again whether you are on buisness or pleasure.

Warmest regards

Valerie & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Our "5 star luxury Super King room" bore little resemblance to our expectations based on the Brantome Villa web site. It seemed more like a regular hotel/motel room. On the positive side: everything was sparkling clean, the room rate included bountiful, delicious breakfasts served elegantly in the communal dining area adjacent to the kitchen. Wine, beer and cocktails were included, when requested. There was strong and unlimited wi-fi internet access and a modern bath with fluffy towels and soft bathrobes. We booked the Weekend Getaway package which added a bottle of champagne and a generous deli platter to the 2 nights booked in the Super King Room. The platter was served by the dining room window overlooking the lake and was more than adequate for our dinner! All meals were elegantly presented on lovely china with tailored linens. On the downside: There were no public lounge areas aside from the outdoor deck and grounds around the lake...which during stormy weather (as we experienced) could not be enjoyed. That left us one hard desk chair to sit on in our room (the dining room/kitchen area is locked when not in use with the owners present). I ended up bringing in a plastic garden chair so we both had someplace to sit aside from the bed. The room decor was not as pictured...no headboard, luxury throw or designer pillows and there is different wall art. The view from our room was of the the parking area and walkway beside a bit of greenery. The walls were without soundproofing so we were aware when the newlyweds arrived after their late night reception. The "cream tea" mentioned in another TA review is a separate endeavor. Certain afternoons are booked by large parties who occupy the main public areas. This is not part of the B&B guest services. We returned one afternoon to find the place filled with a noisy group including some rambunctious children. We booked the special dinner at $50 per person. We chose the fish entree and it did include cocktails and wine, however the dinner itself was plain baked mystery whitefish (the owner didn't know what kind when we inquired) with french fries (previously frozen?), a simple green salad and an apple crumble...far from a gourmet meal, although it was prettily served. At breakfast the eggs were cooked perfectly to order, but the morning muffins looked like the ones they sold at Countdown supermarkets. The hosts are extraordinarily friendly. We were never without conversation when eating a meal there...which defeated any "romantic, relaxing" intentions. We stayed at several lovely B&Bs, inns and cottages while vacationing on the North Island that met or exceeded our expectations and at almost half the price of our stay at Brantome.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hulalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brantomevilla, Owner at Brantome Villa, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write, we appreciate guests who let us know when things aren’t quite as they expected; we then can have the opportunity to put thing right and clarify what we think has happened.

We are sorry to hear that your 2 night stay at Brantome Villa fell short of your expectations. We understand it may have been inconvenient for you not to have a lounge to sit in if weather was inclement, to this end we are undergoing a room change so that the room you stayed in for 2 nights will (from the end of May) have its own lounge. A suite was available at your time of booking; unfortunately, as requested we were unable to give you a free upgrade on arrival due to booking restraints.

In our defence, we were rated by Qualmark as 5 Star, we are not self-rated as are many other B&B’s; the Qualmark assessor even stayed in the room you were in. Having a Qualmark Rating means we are re-assessed yearly; we have to abide by and adhere to many rules and guidelines including a First Aid and Food Hygiene Certificate, have yearly checks done on electrical appliances’ display Fire Evacuation Procedures not to mention the correct insurance cover. We are also GST Registered which means 15% of whatever we charge goes back to the NZ government.
You will find many other B&B’s are neither Qualmark Rated nor GST registered.

Firstly, we must point out that you did not book a ‘Weekend Getaway Package’. On 19 Jan 12, you booked 2 night’s B&B accommodation in our King Room with super-king bed; via our ‘AA’ online booking system through our website.
Then on 21 Jan 12, you emailed to ask if we would email a dinner menu and would we also include the Bubbles & Platter as offered in our Weekend Getaway package! We graciously agreed to include them. However, we advised you that all packages should be booked direct with us; but on this occasion we would oblige.

You booked a 2 course dinner from our menu for your 2nd evening at $50 per person; your choice was fish, with fries and green salad and apple crumble, a bottle of NZ wine is included. (I think you will find most; if not all restaurants use frozen chips/fries and yes I shop locally at Countdown), the fish was teriyaki as I advised on being asked, what I didn’t know was what it looked like when it was alive - not being a fishermen! I also don’t claim to be a gourmet Chef/cook, I like to cook health home-cooked style food (some have called ‘comfort food’) with fresh locally sourced ingredients, your fish, local and yes baked with a Lemon-Pepper topping, French fries (yes frozen) oven cooked, which I find have less fat, mixed green salad with tomatoes, sliced peppers, cucumber and French dressing with homemade apple crumble for dessert.
As with the conversation during meals, we assume when you talk to us you require us to answer. If you had wanted a romantic dinner we think we should have been advised, we would have put the screen up & lit candles so we and the kitchen would not disturb you and we could not be seen.


The walls do have sound proofing between them, however, we are aware that honeymooners or anyone returning late may disturb some people, but possibly this would happen anywhere one would stay, unless you were sole occupants.

Depending on the season, the winter bedding does change when summer arrives; we don’t think people would want to sleep with a thick fury bed cover on in mid-summer. However, all bed-linen and covers are of the highest quality. With wall art etc. If one dose not change or update things; they become old, worn out and boring, so over the years we like to renew things, to keep them fresh and up to-date, the website is on the list for new photo’s once the new lounge is completed.

The property is surrounded by one and a half acres of park-like garden situated in a rural setting, there is always garden or countryside to look at from wherever you are in the accommodation along with under cover decks to sit on.
Luckily you were able to appreciate the fine sunny weather on your first afternoon/evening and able to enjoy complimentary afternoon tea on the deck without interruption. Unfortunately, we don’t have control of the weather; guests don’t usually spend much of their time in their rooms as there is so much to explore in Whangarei and Northland.

On your 2nd (last) afternoon we did have a previous booking for an afternoon tea from a family group who had attended a local funeral to bury their mother, there were 2 children, it was their mother; we could hardy say no, but rambunctious; they were not.
On occasions we do serve afternoon teas, by appointment and only between 11 am & 3pm, with usually only groups of 2–4 people so as not to interrupt our guest’s peace & quiet, unfortunately this one over-ran by 30 minutes but felt in the circumstance we could not ask them to hurry up and leave.

Value, you say that most other accommodation you stayed in during your North Island trip was at almost, half the price. However, it must be pointed out that over the 2 evenings you stayed here you enjoyed: - Two bottles of white wine a bottle of red, 2 bottles of beer along with 3 Gin & Tonics and one Scotch, all of which were doubles not to mention the Bubbles that came with the Platter and the bottle of wine that came with dinner, so taking into consideration the amount of alcohol you had ‘complementary’ I think this would be a tall order!

We are glad to hear that you found everything to be sparkling clean and you enjoyed the delicious breakfasts; everyone who stays is welcome to enjoy a cream tea, you only have to ask.
We trust you had a safe and uneventful journey back to America.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
13.0 mi away
Kauri Villas
Kauri Villas
#1 of 30 in Whangarei
132 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
290 reviews
6.0 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
6.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#24 of 34 in Whangarei
34 reviews
9.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brantome Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brantome Villa

Property: Brantome Villa
Address: 454 Crane Road, Whangarei 0185NZ, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brantome Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two very comfortable Suites, each consisting of: a bedroom; with super-king beds, option in King Lakeview Suite to have another bedroom with Queen bed & shower room, this is ideal for 2 couples traveling or couples who like their own space. Both suites have their own private lounge. Complimentary Full Breakfast & Wi-Fi. The King Lakeview Suite overlooks the garden & lake. The King Garden Suite overlooks a peaceful garden. The property is set in an one & a half acres of park-like gardens, bordering a lake. There is seating around the garden for you to enjoy the peace & quiet, listen to the ducks & tui's amongst other birds, quietly watch rabbits & Pukekos going about their day Here at Brantome Villa we pride ourselves on giving you a 5 star service. If your looking for luxury accommodation in the Whangarei area this is it! Roger & I look forward to meeting you very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Brantome Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing