We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star + experience. Wonderful place to relax.”
Review of Brantome Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brantome Villa
Ranked #11 of 29 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Brantome Villa over Xmas and it was one of our most memorable. We stayed in the suite overlooking the beautiful lake. Sunsets are really lovely as the sun goes down over the lake and you can watch them from your room or veranda.

The standard and cleanliness of the rooms was the best we've ever experienced. A designer bathroom, with a generous bedroom with queen size bed, a full size living room with large leather sofa and widescreen tv, a really useful sink/mini kitchen area and a large entrance hall. Unlike many 5 star places, everything in our room was gratis. The comfortable beds and the standard of linen gave us very high quality sleep over the 4 days we were there.

Roger and Valerie were amazing hosts. From the drive up to the villa to us leaving, their service and friendliness was excellent. Breakfast was a very nice experience in itself, with a choice of cereal, fruit, juice, etc - before a cooked breakfast of your choice, followed by a freshly cooked muffin or danish. If you need anything else, you just had to ask and they would provide it.

The villa is set in immaculately kept gardens surrounding a beautiful lake. There's also your own outside area to eat or relax, and a nice gazebo at the side of the lake - a lovely place to go and have a drink or eat your lunch. The location of the villa was ideal for either traveling to Whangerei (10 mins) or for traveling to the countryside or coast (20 mins to Tutukaka coves and beaches). The villa is in a very quiet area, which made it very easy to relax.

Undoubtedly one of the best places we've stayed at and we will return the next time we need to de-stress and properly unwind. Top class!

Room Tip: Choose a suite. The additional cost is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lowe103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 76 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2011

The B&B is set in a lovely location, overlooking a small lake. I was upgraded to the lakeview roon and so had a separate lounge area with views onto the lake.

The property is about 10 minutes drive into town, so make sure you get directions on how to get there.

The room was very clean and comfortable.

The hosts (an English couple) were lovely and welcoming. Breakfast in the morning was very filling, with cereal, toast, eggs and bacon as well as freshly squeezed juice and tea / coffee.

Really good value for what you get compared to some other hotels in NZ.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmcinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had an absolute fantastic time here - we have stayed in many locations and I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Brantome Villa 2 nights and wished we had been able to stay longer. Both of us are birders, and there were plenty of birds to see in this lovely natural setting with its wide expanse of lawn, lovely flowers and trees, and a breathtaking pond. The delicious breakfasts are a treat, and the room was very pleasant with a great view and spotlessly clean. The villa is close enough to town yet it has a relaxed, peaceful country atmosphere. But it is Roger and Valerie who really make this villa so special. They were wonderful hosts, very friendly and accommodating, and they made us feel right at home.
Ed and Barb

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Great place to stay in whangarei and cheap relative to other places in the area. They understand what international travelers want in a place to stay.

Room Tip: Breakfast was really great. Make sure you book dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelgarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed at Brantome Villa for five nights of peace during a pretty hectic schedule following the World Cup and visiting old friends. We could not have made a better choice. The villa is immaculate, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. As always, it is the people that really make a place stand out and Roger and Valerie are brilliant hosts, so friendly, kind and helpful. They put us in the suite because they thought we could do with the extra space seeing we were staying for five nights and it was just fantastic. Sitting in the evening, watching the sun set over the lake is a memory that will last a long time. Breakfast is first class, with the same beautiful view over the lake - it certainly set us up well for the day ahead. I don't usually eat a cooked breakfast but I couldn't resist! Brantome Villa is brilliantly situated for touring the area. An easy drive up to the Bay of Islands, we also headed over to the west coast and the beaches north of Whangarei are just stunning. After a good day out, it was lovely coming back to the peaceful haven of Brantome Villa and enjoying our lovely suite. A huge thank you to Roger and Valerie, you should be so proud of the beautiful place you have created.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but if you want a little extra space, the suite if first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I all over NZ on buisness and it is important as a young women alone to feel safe. The hosts make you feel compfortable and make yummy breakfasts and food, they are helpful and friendly. After a hard day driving you can relax and feel as if you have escaped the hussle and bussle. Close to town, yet when you get to the villa you feel as though you are in the peaceful country. I love the rooms, they are stunning, and everything is so nice and clean. The beds are cosy and compfortable, you have everything you need and the veiws around the lake and scenary just top it all off. Not only do I love this for buisness but I would highly recommend this to anyone who is traveling from over seas or within NZ to get a change of scenary with friends or partners. Thank you for a lovely stay - I will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautful - I don't think you could choose a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandTraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
6 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
157 reviews
5.7 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
3.9 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#10 of 34 in Whangarei
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
6.1 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
302 reviews
4.8 mi away
Burgundy Rose Motel
Burgundy Rose Motel
#6 of 34 in Whangarei
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brantome Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brantome Villa

Address: 454 Crane Road, Whangarei 0185NZ, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range: $109 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brantome Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two very comfortable Suites, each consisting of: a bedroom; with super-king beds, option in King Lakeview Suite to have another bedroom with Queen bed & shower room, this is ideal for 2 couples traveling or couples who like their own space. Both suites have their own private lounge. Complimentary Full Breakfast & Wi-Fi. The King Lakeview Suite overlooks the garden & lake. The King Garden Suite overlooks a peaceful garden. The property is set in an one & a half acres of park-like gardens, bordering a lake. There is seating around the garden for you to enjoy the peace & quiet, listen to the ducks & tui's amongst other birds, quietly watch rabbits & Pukekos going about their day Here at Brantome Villa we pride ourselves on giving you a 5 star service. If your looking for luxury accommodation in the Whangarei area this is it! Roger & I look forward to meeting you very soon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing