We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but old fashioned”
Review of Braemar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Braemar House
Ranked #1 of 10 Whanganui B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Old fashioned simple hostel that is comfortable and very clean. A good size kitchen for the size of the hostel and staff friendly. Nothing extraordinary but nothing wrong with it at the same time. Would recommend if staying for a few nights.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carley99_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 49 of 49 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2008

We have stayed here previously but didn't review it before. We love this place it is so homely and cosy. Chatting to the other guests they were of the same opinion, that it is an outstanding hostel.
Scrupulously clean and comfy beds, we will be back next year (we hope). Loved the hens and the free grapefruit and tamarillos.
Johnno and Anne UK.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Johnnomackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
Thank Djanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BraemarInnKeeper, Owner at Braemar House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osterberg_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed April 17, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 26 in Whanganui
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
320 reviews
2.8 mi away
Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
42b College House
42b College House
#4 of 12 in Whanganui
98 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fiesta Court Motel
Fiesta Court Motel
#3 of 26 in Whanganui
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braemar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braemar House

Address: 2 Plymouth Street, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Whanganui
Price Range: $43 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Braemar House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Whanganui, Braemar House looks forward to welcoming you with the hospitality that Whanganui is famous for and to offer you a glimpse into the luxury accommodation of early New Zealand. Historic Braemar House, built in 1895, is adjacent to the banks of the Whanganui River and close to Victoria Avenue, one of New Zealand’s most attractive high streets. We are also a short walk to the Whanganui city centre and the many tourist attractions that this charming river city holds. The Whanganui hostel accommodation includes separate double, twin, family and multi-share rooms. These are all linked to a huge multi-function kitchen and dining room featuring everything necessary to make a feast or a small private meal. Our large comfortable lounge has television, games, cards and small book swap library. Enjoy our hi speed, unlimited, free WiFi for staying in touch with friends and family back home. YHA Whanganui, Braemar House also has a Bbq area and garden to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Braemar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing