We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AdBlue4You Taranaki/Wanganui”

Stellar Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #24 of 90 Restaurants in Whanganui
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“AdBlue4You Taranaki/Wanganui”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great food and atmosphere.
Busy bar and restaurant.
Right in the main street near the river.
Staff were very busy but were very freindly and aimed to please.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    79
    24
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Stella”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visited at night-my friends and I, for dinner. I had been in with my friends who were from out of town, earlier in the afternoon and we visited later in the evening for dinner too.
Stella has been revamped, new owners apparently. I don't know why they have taken the light and crisp lines of the 'old' Stella and created a 'bar' that is dark and neon lit - even in the daytime.
I did like the low volume of the background music. We were able to talk and remember the old days without having to shout at each other - the acoustics are good, I could hear without having to yell and say "pardon" etc ...which seems to be all too common in other eateries around town at the moment (<<<What is with that?) The afternoon Stella was quiet and clean. The bar service was good. The selection of wine and beers was comprehensive and priced accordingly.
Our dinner experience later was okay too. I did notice a remarkable downsizing of the portions of food on my plate from my last dine-in visit ...unfortunately the downsizing of the size of the meals didn't reflect in a downsizing of cost. Prices were still reasonable - 'old' Stella prices, with 'old' Stella favourites still on the menu however the platefuls were considerably less. It was still an adequate meal for moi however a hungry male may be left wanting more... I guess that is what the dessert menu is for!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Sunday special”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were in Wanganui on a Sunday night, with not much open, and we didn't expect a lot walking in to Stellar, which is a fairly basic pub. No loud music or events on Sunday night, just a restaurant full of couples, groups and families enjoying very satisfying fare. My husband had a special starter of tiger prawns and scallops, the sort of dish I wouldn't usually order in this type of restaurant, and pronounced it excellent (he's very fussy about fresh shellfish). I had a simple, very fresh green salad (only complaint, mediocre tomatoes, a crime in NZ where there is excellent produce), not on the menu but brought by request. I had a very good fettuccine with chicken, bacon and mushroom, creamy but not too heavy, while my husband enjoyed his lamb shank. We were both too full for dessert, but the selections were tempting. We would definitely return if visiting Wanganui again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
“great service, great food, great night out”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

coming to stellar from out of town on a tuesday night seemed a daunting prospect but we thought we'd try the quiz night and make an evening of it, we weren't dissappointed, the quiz was thoroughly enjoyable, staff were friendly and welcoming and the food was great all in all a great night out and we will definitely be back for more whenever we are in town

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gibson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
486 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Not very special”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had dinner here for one evening. The atmosphere is more of a disco with loud music of the sixties. The porc was good, but vthe pizza we had was moderate. Service okay.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hans_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stellar Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Stellar Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing