We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regular Spot”

Breakers Cafe and Bar
Ranked #58 of 89 Restaurants in Whanganui
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Regular Spot”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Meals may not be presented overly well but they certainly taste good. Large servings and a great selection. Also daily specials. Service can be a little slow on occasion, however, the food has always been excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Di J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    10
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Enjoyed their cappucino”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We wandered in there as it's not far from where we're staying and have been back there each morning so that I can get my coffee fix. We haven't tried their food at all. The girl at the counter has ben friendly and I've enjoyed my cappucino. About an inch of chocolate coated foam :) Not cheap though - $5 for a large coffee which is more than I pay in Auckland.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NixieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wouldnt go back”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

the service was crap and the food was disgusting wouldnt recommend to anyone wont go back. food was either under cooked or over cooked, it was like the staff didnt want to be there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The owner who I fronted because I was so annoyed at spending money in his crappy (lets not call it a restaurant) place is absolutely useless.
Even the staff are ashamed of the muck they serve up.
Warm beer, lumpy meals, and when i was talking to the owner another guy turned up and tried to intimidate me after I told the owner the food was rubbish.
BEWARE THE PLACE IS ABSOLUTE CRAP!!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank North N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Pleasant friendly staff, great food and good atmosphere. The hotel has been refurbished and is just lovely.Relaxed atmosphere, open fire and is kid friendly

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakers Cafe and Bar also viewed

Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Breakers Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing