We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful river side setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Martinborough, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful river side setting”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Great location, friendly goat to boot. We had a fantastic two night stay here. Andre is a great bloke. We loved our unit. Its just a short drive or taxi into town to some great bars and restaurants. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    57
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
85
63
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We found the Wanganui Top 10 Holiday Park was everything Trip Advisor reviewers said it was. Staff were most helpful, grounds and facitilies were spotless, showers hot and lastest (although cubicles were tiny making dressing difficult). Camping beside a river is always a treat, Wanganui Top 10 is no exception. Would recommend it most highly.

Room Tip: Request a site by the river. Just beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne3825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We tried to use Top 10 sites wherever we stayed in New Zealand. The standard was always high and the accommodation clean and comfortable. We used self contained cabin units which had bathrooms and limited kitchen facilities sufficient for a breakfast or a takeaway evening meal. Linen, towels and soap were always included. They were also easy to book ahead and would undertake to book local attractions for you. Having left Wellington late we arrived in Wanganui later than we expected. We still received a cheerful welcome and retired to our nice clean cabin for a much needed evening meal with a cold New Zealand beer. The site lies right alongside the Whanganui river, making a very pleasant evening stroll on the banks.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fhdCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This place is awesome, great setting, nice choice of rooms and chalets. We loved it. Travelling with a 70 year old, 40 year old and two little kids, it was PERFECT. nice people, very very clean and new stuff like ovens and beds. Heaps for the kids to do.

Room Tip: Kitchen cabins are perfect for a young family. Tucked away and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayessbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We spent a fab 3 nights in a 3 person self-contained unit. The weather was superb,coupled with good company, the service was excellent to. We were welcomed by a wonderful couple, Andre and his wife.The unit was clean and we received fresh towels everyday. It was my first time to Wanganui and I was really impressed by the peace and tranquilaty it offered. I would highly recommend it! My next rip will be in December this year and will be looking at booking the deluxe motel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
181 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This was our third visit and we will be coming again. This time we stayed in a deluxe motel. We think this is better value than a city motel...you have tons of space both inside and out and we love watching the river boats steam past. The decor in this motel unit is a little dated which is disappointing given it's brand new - we know they have been practical with the build but it lacked the modern clean look of today - it was very orange/brown. That aside - the furnishings are modern and comfortable and spacious. The bathroom is incredible. We didn't use the shared facilities this time but can see they are continuing to be well maintained and there is always work happening in the park.

Room Tip: Deluxe motels for tons of space; basic motels for motel facilities on a smaller budget; we haven&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Lovely park in a gorgeous setting by the river with really good clean facilities. We thought $50 a night for a powered site for two people was expensive especially when we only used the showers and toilets.

Room Tip: A site by the river is great but costs an extra $5
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kikiflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
2.3 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
2.7 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#17 of 26 in Whanganui
55 reviews
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Wanganui
Econo Lodge Wanganui
#20 of 26 in Whanganui
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Whanganui Seaside Holiday Park
2.9 mi away
Tamara Riverside Lodge
Tamara Riverside Lodge
#5 of 12 in Whanganui
63 reviews
3.1 mi away
42b College House
42b College House
#3 of 12 in Whanganui
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 460 Somme Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a holiday park in the lower north island of New Zealand, look no further. Rated 4*plus by Qualmark and situated on the banks of the Whanganaui River, this park has everything you need for a perfect holiday. Free Wifi for all guests. Accommodation options to suit every budget: Deluxe motels, serviced self-contained units, cabins & large tent and van sites, some right on the riverbank. Superb facilities include an outdoor heated pool with slide, jumping pillow, 2 adventure playgrounds, bouncy castle in the summer, petanque, volleyball, slack line, hammocks, covered or outdoor BBQ areas, Sky TV, and much more. You can hire trikes for the kids to ride around on, you can hire kayaks to explore the river for yourself, or you can relax in the private spa pool looking out over the river. With a friendly team always willing to help you get the most out of your stay in the Wanganui area, this is more than just a stop over, this is a destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing