We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Kings Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kings Court Motel
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Thanks Carol and Mark, we enjoyed our brief stay at your motel. Your hospitality was great and we couldn't fault the motel unit. Location excellent and so quiet. We will certainly stay again when we need accommodation in Wanganui.
The Howard's, Palmerston North.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Yes it is great being one of the closes motel to the CBD but still being a quiet location. We look forward to being able to host you again in the future. Mark & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    98
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
150
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Recently refurbished to a high standard and very clean. Free fast internet. A brilliant fish and chip shop just around the corner if you don't feel like cooking and walking distance to Wanganui which is a lovely little town. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireLass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The fish and chip shop around the corner or a variety of other eating establishments within walking distance are available.
Hope the rest of your trip went well and that you had a safe trip home Mark & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alken, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at the Kings Court Motel last February during a tour of New Zealand's North Island. The room was very nice and clean with a large shower, separate bathroom and kitchen facilities. It looked like the units have recently been refurbished to a high standard finish. Free WiFi was included and worked fine, also for using Skype.The town centre is at walking distance, just 2 or 3 minutes walk to the nearest restaurants. We slept well as the Motel's location is very quiet despite being so close to the town centre. The manager was very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. We definitely recommend the Kings Court Motel to those who plan to spend time in Wanganui and we look forward to going back on a next trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BB-MUAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for the positive feedback you have given. Yes the units have all been refurbished within the last 10 months and we are fortunate to have quality tradesmen in Wanganui to do the job.
We look forward to catching up on your next trip to Wanganui Mark & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at motel thanks to a road sign, nothing more. What a winner! Modest in cost, fabulously clean, well equipped and spacious. A good strong internet connection and a fine bathroom. A very friendly person at reception. Go for it if you are in Wanganui

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We were pleased to be able to cater to all your requirements while staying in Wanganui. The motel is well situated within walking distance of the CBD. We have recently refurbished the units and thank you for your positive feedback. Hope the rest of your trip went well and you have a safe trip home Mark & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

A most comfortable lodging in a charming NZ town. Located just off the Main Street, nice and quiet, with some of the best internet we've encountered in 4 weeks. Nothing else remarkable other than good value if you're passing through this charming town. Take time to look as some of the old Deco style buildings in town

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JLK1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Like many travelers you have been surprised when you get to Wanganui and find what a gem it is. Unfortunately most have already booked ongoing accommodation and are unable to stay longer. Hope the rest of your holiday was great and we look forward to having you stay again in the further Mark & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Warm, friendly and helpful upon arrival and throughout.

Obviously modernised to good standard recently. Spacious and clean.

Free wifi a refreshing addition.

Well positioned for easy walking access into town for restaurants and near fuel and shops.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aceadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We refurbished all the units within the last 10 months and we appreciate your positive feedback. The motel is well situated with walking distance of town and most amenities. Hope the rest of your trip went well and you had a safe journey home Mark & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Kings Court motel was in a great location - within walking distance of shops etc. Kings Court has been recently renovated and the room was a great size for six people (one bedroom). The owners are very welcoming and made our stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacati0n013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The motel is in a great location and we were pleased that your family was able to get to see what Wanganui has to offer.We would love to have you stay again if ever in Wanganui Mark & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.2 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 26 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#18 of 26 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Court Motel

Property: Kings Court Motel
Address: 60 Plymouth Street, Whanganui, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4 star. 12 Spacious groundfloor units, quiet garden setting,close to city centre,self contained and serviced with off street parking adjacent to unit.Plenty of windows to take in the fresh air and natural sunlight. Everything you need in one convenient location. Suitable for all travellers or Corporate Guests alike, Kings Court is your home away from home. Cleanliness assured. Stay with us and qualify for a FREE 12th night with any Host Accommodation Motel, member of MANZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kings Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing