We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation for the price”
Review of Kings Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kings Court Motel
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
312 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation for the price”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The motel room we stated in was quite spacious and had a good sized kitchenette. The room was also very clean, and everything in good working order.

The owners were great, providing helpful advice on our restaurant selections, and made bookings for us.

The location was good, far enough away from the centre of town to be quiet, but not too far away to walk.

Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark&Rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, was great to hear everything was of high standard and met expectations. Thank you for staying with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your NZ travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    98
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
150
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
388 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Really liked this motel. Great location, close to the town centre, supermarkets, and takeaways. Good kitchen facilities. Very helpful and friendly managers, free WIFI. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PaulineTAntrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thankyou, We are so happy you enjoyed everything on your visit and will come visit again. Our location is wonderful and so close to everything as you mentioned.Hope to see you again and Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great location just along from the main shops on Victoria Avenue (well worth a stroll all the way down to the river). The room was clean, spacious and tidy but very dated. The host was helpful in suggesting where to eat and pointed out a great Sunday market down by the Quay that was well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank De4nn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Great to know you were happy with your stay and staff treated you well. As mentioned in previous post cleanliness is our goal and a all units are being renovated very soon to a modern finish.
Wanganui is a lovely town and glad you saw a bit of it. take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at this property based on recent reviews. I am surprised the reviewers did not comment on the outdated plumbing fixtures in the bathroom sink. The faucets were separate cold and hot water so you could not wash your hands in warm water without filling the sink with water first. The shower was made of stainless steel and was very slippery. We had to put a towel on the shower floor to keep from falling. The toilet does not have a two-stage flush. I do not see how the owner can claim they are in-tune with saving water goals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes our rooms are a bit dated but well looked after and clean .We have been aware and taken Guests comments on board and are in the process of re-doing them. We havent advertised ourselves as water saving/eco friendly to a specific standard we just inform Guests that they have the options of re-using towels if they wish or we can replace them during services, sorry you misinterpreted our sign. We would love to be eco-friendly to a high standard but the building and present fixtures do not allow for this at this time. Cleanliness is the high priority for all guests, we are a 3 & half star motel not 5 star and believe we are priced to reflect our position. However a face lift has been in the pipeline for some time and All units are being renovated very soon to a modern finish. So please do not be deterred for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our room was very clean and tidy. Older fashioned style but comfortable, the shower was out of the 70s. Very good customer service. Not far from the city and close to supermarket.
We booked the large studio which was very large. No road noise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thankyou for your review. Great to hear you were well looked after and happy with your stay. Yes our rooms are a bit dated but well looked after and clean as you said. Great news though they will be renovated very soon so hopefully we will see you again to check them out. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Only stayed for one night, but we were very happy with the accomodation. Large bed , comfortable setee and a good kitchen area which suited our needs. Owner was helpful and made good suggestions for walks (River walk and Virginia Lake). The hotel has a good location just off the main road, but in a quiet position. We were impressed with Wanganui - spent a nice afternoon there - including watching the local youths jumping in to the river from the bridge!
Only problem was that, at the time we were staying, Wanganui had a problem with it's sewerage, and there was a definite nasty smell in the air, which prevented us from having the windows open! However, this is not the fault of the hotel, but it did detract from the stay somewhat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgjsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and Wanganui. The smell is something the council has been working on and only appears on occassions, sorry it was present at the time of your stay. Hopefully they get the sewerage plant fixed asap. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the Kings Court Motel. The room was clean and spacious, with a kitchette, and extra bed. Free WiFi and parking. We were made to feel welcome and the hostess recommend a restaurant nearby, Angora (see review).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thankyou we love hearing happy guests reviews. Its great you were well looked after and enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.2 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 26 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#18 of 26 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Court Motel

Property: Kings Court Motel
Address: 60 Plymouth Street, Whanganui, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4 star. 12 Spacious groundfloor units, quiet garden setting,close to city centre,self contained and serviced with off street parking adjacent to unit.Plenty of windows to take in the fresh air and natural sunlight. Everything you need in one convenient location. Suitable for all travellers or Corporate Guests alike, Kings Court is your home away from home. Cleanliness assured. Stay with us and qualify for a FREE 12th night with any Host Accommodation Motel, member of MANZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kings Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing