We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to Stay!”
Review of Kings Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Court Motel
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic Place to Stay!”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Thank you very much for the lovely rooms provided! We really enjoyed our stay.

Many of our friends found their accommodation very disappointing and wishing you had more rooms to spare.

We had a great time. Simple, tidy and extremely clean and well maintained!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
We're happy that your trip to wanganui was fantastic overall. Thankyou for your responses, its always great to hear from guests and we appreciate your time doing so. Thank you so much again, Regards Mel & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    99
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
151
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We were in transit only needing one night's accommodation. This motel was super clean, the managers were very,very welcoming and helpful. Restaurants were within walking distance as was our wonderful breakfast cafe.. Would return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piwi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Kings Court Motel. It is great to hear what our guest like about us, we strive for cleanliness and comfort to ensure a relaxing stay with us. Thank you and look forward to assisting you again in the future. Kind Regards Mel and Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We passed through Wanganui recently and stumbled accross this motel. We were tired and grouchy and the couple running it were brilliant with us. The room was excellent, immaculately clean, spacious, flatsceen TV, nice en-suite, good hot drinks station etc, and we were happy to relax.

The location is great, just a few mins walk from the main centre of Wanagnui which has plenty of cheaper places to eat.

When we we left we forgot a couple of small but important items of luggage which the management couple emailed us about and arranged to forward to us in Australia, a generous offer far beyond what we had expected. This kind of effort beyond what is normally called for is so often rare in hospitality, and next time we are in the area we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duncan_s66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with Kings Court Motel, we are pleased that you both enjoyed your stay and our amenitites were of high standard, as we pride ourselves on these. Hopefully your goods found you well. Thanks again. Mel and Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Excellent, quiet location, close to main shopping centre and restaurants & take-aways. Spotlessly clean 1 BR unit with a comfortable bed and plenty of space for the three of us and all our luggage. What made our stay so memorable though, was the hospitality of hosts Tony and Sue, who were so helpful and kind - doing our washing and drying, folding and returning our clothes to our room while we were downtown was above and beyond the call of duty! Thank you so much! We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluedraft52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscourtWanganui, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and to highlight some of the features of our motel. We look forward to hosting you in the future Mark & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

this motel is in a quiet road within walking distance of the shopping centre. Excellent accommodation which was spotlessly clean.
Welcoming and helpful reception who recommended an excellent fish and chip shop just a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prenteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
258 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

What a gem of a place. It is spotlessly clean, well appointed, large rooms, great location and the nicest hosts you can find. I also appreciated that all the units are ground floor. After several days of lugging bags up stairs, ground floor accommodations are fantastic. Around the corner is a yummy fish & chip place and there are fast food places in walking or quick driving distance. You can’t go wrong with this one if your intention is a pleasant, comfortable place to stay.

  • Liked — very modern unit, ground floor accomodations
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2007

This is a great motel choice for Wanganui. Located on side street, it is quiet, but close to the central part of town. Spotlessly clean and very well presented. Friendly hosts. Had a kitchen which had all the amenities required, but could have done with a full stove. A nice touch was plunger coffee provided in the room.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffrocowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.2 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 26 in Whanganui
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#17 of 26 in Whanganui
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Court Motel

Property: Kings Court Motel
Address: 60 Plymouth Street, Whanganui, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4 star. 12 Spacious groundfloor units, quiet garden setting,close to city centre,self contained and serviced with off street parking adjacent to unit.Plenty of windows to take in the fresh air and natural sunlight. Everything you need in one convenient location. Suitable for all travellers or Corporate Guests alike, Kings Court is your home away from home. Cleanliness assured. Stay with us and qualify for a FREE 12th night with any Host Accommodation Motel, member of MANZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing