We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of Riverview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverview Motel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were really happy with this motel - it was in a good location , close to everything and spotlessly clean . The furnishing were modern and the bed comfortable . It was well run and the staff were helpful. If I had to find something wrong then it would be the open plan shower/wet room an extractor fan would have been useful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Realm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Riverview Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 143 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

I'm very surprised by the 2 mediocre reviews that precede mine! This is a return visit for my family and I having been here a few years back and I rated it very positively then but actually found it better the second time! We stayed for 7 days this time - you CANNOT beat the value for money, the incredible cleanliness and the accommodating, family friendly feel of the owners - they made us feel very welcome. There were other families there on a return visit at the same time as us and they specifically chose the Riverview again based on all of the above plus its easy walkable proximity to town coupled with the great rates. There has been improvements made to the units to update the decor and furnishings but we had one of the spanky new units down the back which had a great spa bath. I wouldn't normally use a spa bath in a motel but this was SO clean I had no concerns at all. The garden area had been improved which allowed the kids to play ball games safely and so it developed a real community feel after a few days of glorious sunshine. Very, VERY happy with our stay at the Riverview Motel and I will definitley come back again some day - I wouldnt consider staying anywhere else in Wanganui if all the positive factors still remain.

Room Tip: For families or bigger groups, ask the the new units down the back.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Good location and loved being able to see the river from the window in the room. But having to lift up heavy suitcases up the stairs was a drawback, and the shower had only one type of water pressure which wasn't ideal. The couches were lovely but new carpet, new Lino in bathroom and kitchen and new dining suit would make it 10/10.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silversparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

It is hard to imagine rating this motel as 5 stars. Positive: friendly office and cleanliness. Neutral: old and only partly refurbished. Negative: double bed with one side against wall and no side tables, shower that starts hot and runs cold, no ventilation on shower, poor stock of supplies such as soap and toilet paper, rather shabby in the parts not refurbished such as carpet. The long thin shape of the unit makes it hard to see how it could be made more suitable except for a single person - not for couples. Lucky that we were just passing through, though for two nights.

Room Tip: Do ask what kind of room that you are getting.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Riverview Motel is very clean, tidy, comfortable bed, warm, excellent sofa, a big screen TV. Well worth the money and it is a reasonable cost for a night. The owners are very friendly and helpful with special requests. It was actually very quiet considering it was on the main road. I have booked to stay again in December.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was initially worried about there being street noise as I was at the front of the hotel, but it wasn’t to bad at all. Nice big TV, heater worked well. The lady on the counter was friendly and helpful. Everything appeared clean, dishes clean etc, would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Riverview Motel was just excellent in every way. we had a deluxe studio and the spa bath was used a lot as it was a cold weekend. the beds were comfortable amd warm as was the unit. all facilities were excellent as was the proximity to most attractions , meaning we could walk everywhere. The attractions in Wanganui are special, and I loved the history of the city, the museum with it's Maori artefacts, is far superior and more authentic than Te Papa in Wellington.
The staff were welcoming at the motel and nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely go there again

Room Tip: Pick a deluxe spa room at the back as it is quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robs440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.6 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#16 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 26 in Whanganui
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Motel

Address: 14 Somme Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: $64 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Mark (a local from Whanganui) and Karen (from Ireland). We will be pleased to recommend you our favourite places to eat, the things in Wanganui that you absolutely shouldn't miss and hope you will have a great stay with us! Our motel is the closest one to town; depending if you want to take the 'scenic route' along the river or the more direct 'residential' way you could be in our main street within 5 -10 minutes walk. Restaurants and cafes are all within walking distance, so are the historic riverboats that go up the Whanganui river, the art galleries, the museum etc. Our motel has 15 different units; are you looking for low-cost, for a room with a view, for a family unit or for a unit with a spa bath; we have it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riverview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing