We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again - Warning Don't Go!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bignell Street Motel
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never Again - Warning Don't Go!!”
Reviewed June 9, 2010

A group went to this motel were warned by local organisation after booking not to go there but had paid in cash so couldnt get their money back. We were warned and hadn't paid so cancelled at least a week before and booked another place. However we transported some of the group to this motel. It was absolutely terrible, the piddly little heaters made a noise and the plastic was melted and it smelt of buring plastic, the lamp was old and ricketty all crooked looked so dangerous like it could fall over and the sheets were all oldfashioned and different colours the pillowcase was different colour too. Not even a sofa or lounge chair in the unit we saw only funny old table and chairs you had to sit on the bed. Freezing units at the occupants didn't want to risk using the electric blankets - looking at the state of the lamps and heater who would want to risk the blankets - bet they have never been checked. The linen was old looked like it should have been in the rag bag. When we cancelled our unit at least a week before we went to Wanganui the manager was as nice as pie, emailed back confirming our cancellation, by low and behold, a few days after arriving home we received an account saying he had taken the payment for the nights accommodation out because we had to still pay it. So our visa was charged with the cost of a nights accommodation - $77.00 which is a huge ripoff anyway when you see the state of the place. Totally disgusting and they have false advertising, on the account we received they had the cheek to have Wanganuis best accommodation, it has really put me off going to Wanganui again the council should clamp down hard on this guy he's a rip off and desperate for money. We got a place for 99.00 which was outdated but at least had a decent heater and clean bedding and towels so for that can't complain. Compared to the Bignell it was a palace so would hate to see what other motels in Wanganui are like, they should rail road this guy as he is giving the place a bad name. He even had the cheek to offer us a ten per cent discount when he sent us the account charging us 77.00 for the night we didn't even stay there.!!!!!!! Don't trust this guy don't go near the place, horrid horrid horrid and so cold.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nzarndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    4
    4
    20
See reviews for
8
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We had a really good time in wanganui & our stay at Bignell Street Motel was excellent. The room was clean and fresh and the manager was really helpful. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKJohnEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2009

The attitude of the manager Mr Peter One was terrible, it seemed that because the Masters Games were on at the same time he could charge what he wanted for his "luxury accommodation".
In our "luxury unit" our bed sheets consisted of three different colours, not even different shades, all were pretty shabby. The toilets and showers had not had a good clean in awhile. A positive I suppose was that this "luxury unit" came with a free kitchen, which consisted of a bench above some cupboards, microwave and an old bar fridge.

I was concerned that there didn't seem to be any evacuation scheme visable, no fire extinguisher in the kitchen and some of the equipment had not been checked in the last year.

Wanganui is such a great place to visit., we will never choose this place for our next visit.

  • Liked — Not much really
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank chrisw68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whanganui hotels

Rotorua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2009

The manager's attitude was unbelievable and way out of line. Payment for the unit was to be in cash! The camp showers toilets and kitchen were grubby. The general condition of the room was below standard for the amount being charged per night. The advertisement for the motel reads "Happy Friendly and Relaxed" it most certainly was NOT! The whole experience put a damper on my weekend away.

  • Disliked — Management attitude!
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Rotovagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAWATU
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Property apperance not bad.
Attitude very poor.. Initially wouldn't take Visa although advertised he would. Records very bad
Complained about dirty shower/ toilet block he said it was hard to find cleaners who would do toilets.
Also badly maintained - he admitted it had been painted but paint didn't last..
WON'T BE BACK

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
3 Thank ROSE009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manawatu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

Friends were with us also, but stayed in a motorhome. They said the toilet/shower blocks were very shabby, and not very clean. Our motel room had no lampshades, and toilet bowel looked like it needed a good dose of bleach. Sink unit in bathroom had no where to put toiletries, no shelving whatsoever. Very overpriced- $95.00 per night!! We checked out Castlecliff Seaside Park after leaving $65.00 for fully self contained cabin, that is where we will be heading next time. When it was time to pay, was told do not accept cheques (fair enough) offered visa, no don`t accept visa, only cash!!! So, I said I don`t carry cash with me, was then told "Well can accept visa, but it will be under another company!!!! But receipt showed Bignell St. Caravan Park! Well they say you learn from your mistakes, and we certainly have.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Wanganui
Econo Lodge Wanganui
#19 of 26 in Whanganui
6 reviews
2.5 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#14 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Whanganui Seaside Holiday Park
3.4 mi away
Wiritoa Lakes Motel
Wiritoa Lakes Motel
#24 of 26 in Whanganui
2 reviews
5.2 mi away
Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bignell Street Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bignell Street Motel

Property: Bignell Street Motel
Address: 86 Bignell Street, Whanganui 4501, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bignell Street Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$50 MOTEL. Save $$ On Your Accommodation. Come stay with us! Large new units available with one or two bedrooms. 36 caravan sites set in park-like grounds. Close to city centre. Quiet location. 24-hour camera security. Friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Bignell Street Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bignell Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing