We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Disabled.... Yeah Right!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bignell Street Motel
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Whanganui, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good for Disabled.... Yeah Right!”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Actually stayed here September 2009. Was visiting family here and stayed here with my fiancee. She is in a wheelchair and was told the unit she booked was wheelchair accessible.
Ok, she could get into the unit but not the toilet/shower. The shower was dripping, it was not possible to even wash, the sheets and pillow cases were mixed colours, my fiancees carer's sheets had mould on them. Also, remnants of previous tennants breakfast on table in form of toast crusts. The room was freezing, thank goodness we had our own heater. The communal toilet/shower block was filthy, I'm not sure it has been cleaned very often.
The tv in our room was just for decoration.
As payment was in cash we could not go elsewhere, I know why he accepts cash only.
Once you pay that way you are stuck there.
The manager was dodgy in appearance, and throughout Wanganui his reputation is not good. He'll tidy up the property before a hotel inspection, but once that is done he lets it all go downhill.
Others have told me they did not feel safe there, I have to agree. Here's why:
The place is known for drug users and prostitution, the police are here in force nearly every Friday night.
I do not reccommend this place to anyone, bulldoze it down, get rid of the manager and then the hospitality industry in Wanganui will pick up.

Room Tip: To get the best room, go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Uzbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    4
    4
    20
See reviews for
8
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We enjoyed our stay, the unit was cosy and clean. For a reasonably priced place to stay, I would recommend to others.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Viola49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Friendly manager and nice to be given a choice of units, plus a really good shower. Downsides were some less than clean aspects in the kitchen, paint falling off the shower lining, no bedside reading lights (but one supplied on request), shabby furnishings (incl hole in carpet) and beds very overdue for retirement. Some (unintentionally) amusing notices around the unit were a nice distraction, but unless we just had a bad unit it wasn't good value for the money. Telling people we met in Wanganui where we were staying produced some very interesting responses - and some illuminating info on some of the other activities apparently conducted at this motel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miloandmates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whanganui hotels

Strasbourg, France
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2011

As we arrived Peter, the manager, gave us a map of the hotel, keys of different rooms and the prices, so we had the opportunity to discover the different rooms and choose one quietly. And that in the middle of the night! Thanks a lot for that Peter! :-)

The rooms were maybe not in the standards of a 4* in Europe but they were clean and quiet, and that was for us the most important. Also the kitchen in the room was complete and usefull.

Peter was very nice and helpful. He also invited us to breakfast with him and so we had the opportunity to discuss with an really interesting kiwi :-) And even if there is no internet in the room, Peter also proposed us to use his computer :-)

So if you want to discover the true New Zealand and the nice people from there go to Peter's motel! :-) Thanks a lot Peter and hope to see you soon! Jenny&Daniel

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani_Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2010

My partner and I travelled from a little place called Bowen in Queensland, Australia, where we work in a similar motel complex. We received top quality service from Peter and his staff, information on where to dine and places of interest to visit. Though the rooms were a little small and decor at a minimum, it was cosey, clean and comfortable but best of all, the charge rate was very, very good and affordable. We exyended our stay and recommend that should anyone be looking for accommodation in Wanganui then check out Bignell Motels first. I am sure that Peter will give you the best service possible. Thanks Peter. We appreciated your help and advice. We will be back. Toni & Ed

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmaihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Bignell Street Motel on two occasions during our extended tour of the North Island of NZ. We received the best value for money here than in any other place we stayed during our tour. The rooms and facilities were neat. Peter One was very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryClaasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weyburn, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Awesome place and awesome service. Great of Peter the manager to recommend different places for us to go in town, friendly friendly friendly!!! Best service on our trip. Clean cozy rooms. The price was great for what you get and it is in a nice quiet spot in town. Would recommend! Best bang for your buck!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tydus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
2.5 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#17 of 26 in Whanganui
55 reviews
3.0 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
1.8 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Whanganui Seaside Holiday Park
5.2 mi away
Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Gateway Motor Lodge
Gateway Motor Lodge
#16 of 26 in Whanganui
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bignell Street Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bignell Street Motel

Property: Bignell Street Motel
Address: 86 Bignell Street, Whanganui 4501, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bignell Street Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$50 MOTEL. Save $$ On Your Accommodation. Come stay with us! Large new units available with one or two bedrooms. 36 caravan sites set in park-like grounds. Close to city centre. Quiet location. 24-hour camera security. Friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Bignell Street Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bignell Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing