We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful gardens

Lovely to walk around the lake. Nice & cool in the summer sun Beautiful well kept gardens with nice... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Fiona S
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Whanganui visit

What a beautifully kept park! We stayed very close by, so it was a natural place to visit and relax.

Reviewed January 6, 2020
rodcramb
,
Randburg, South Africa
via mobile
Read all 392 reviews
  
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveler rating
264
112
15
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
264
112
15
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews feed the ducks bird aviary winter garden lovely walk bread begonia house easy walk water birds st johns hill free attraction beautiful space walk around duck cafe beautiful spot great cafe the main road plenty of parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 392 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

What a beautifully kept park! We stayed very close by, so it was a natural place to visit and relax.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank rodcramb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019 via mobile

Enjoyed walking around this lovely lake. Wildlife swimming around, and lots of different plants, good to see lots of natives.
Next time we will bring some money to make the fountain go.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Diannemh46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019 via mobile

This is such a beautiful place not far from Whanganui. It’s a lovely relaxing walk round the lake, watching a variety of birds and their chicks. Don’t miss the Winter Gardens, which are so beautifully done. Apparently the lady behind it has been doing it for a long time, it is just a blaze of colour at the moment. There is also an aviary with lots of non native birds in it. We finished off our visit with a delicious coffee at Funky Duck cafe.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank MCRwindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2019

If you're visiting Whanganui, head to Virginia Lake for a tranquil break. A bonus: it's open when other attractions are closed (we visited on a Sunday morning).

The free-flight aviary contains birds I've seen nowhere else in New Zealand: turquoisine parakeets (iridescent!), eastern rosellas, and peach-faced lovebirds, among others. At 10:30am on a Sunday, we had the aviary to ourselves.

The winter garden, a greenhouse, housed a holiday display in red and white that featured poinsettias and fuchsias. It both surprised and pleased me.

Take a stroll around the lake or above it in the woods to unwind.

The café on site, the Funky Duck, and toilets make visiting here a half-day option if your choose.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank LindaG4870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2019 via mobile

Such a pretty location for a picnic or walk , feed the ducks, geese and pokekoes. Easy flat walk great for prams and wheelchairs. Well worth the stop if visiting whanganui

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank mandysugny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews