We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many ways to enjoy this beautiful river”
Review of Whanganui River

Whanganui River
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.05*
and up
Half-Day Whanganui Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #3 of 31 things to do in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Many ways to enjoy this beautiful river”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As one can see from reading the reviews, there are many ways to enjoy the Wanganui River, and we hope to come back to try the kayaking or a longer trip to the Bridge to Nowhere, perhaps staying in one of the few river lodges. This trip, on Sunday, we spent a couple of hours with family on the paddle steamer Waimarie, restored and recommissioned 100 years after she was first built. It's useful to know that there are drinks sold on board, and that you can either pre-order a bag lunch or bring your own food for a picnic, since the cafe where the steamer stops has fairly unfriendly service and mediocre food (in particular, I'd suggest skipping the enormous Lamingtons). The coffee was fine. It's also useful to know that if you sit on top in front (great view but lots of sun so slather on the sunscreen and bring a hat) you will get coal dust all over you at one point. I just checked my laundry, and it does come out, but jeans are a better choice than my white slacks were! On Monday, we drove along the river to Pipiriki, stopping to look at various lovely views and to visit a particularly serene marae with good 19th century carvings to the left of the road a little before Jerusalem. (The drive is about 74 kilometers and takes about 1-1/2 hours without stops. We took about 2/1-2.) At Pipiriki, we felt slightly un-ecofriendly taking a 45 minute jet boat trip further up the river, but really enjoyed it. Both the drive along and the time on the river were wonderful.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    74
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the Seven Wonders of the World.”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Have canoed the River many times, when the kids were younger. Canadian canoe and kayaks. The most amazing thing I saw was a N.P friend come out of his pup tent with a pavlova piled with cream. This was about the third day down from Cherry Grove. It was he and his wife's anniversary. How's that for a fantastic jesture!! Even in high flow, the river is the most amazing place on earth. Bird song, still stretches, fun, bouncy rapids and some quite tricky ones too! The old river boatmen knew their stuff !

Helpful?
Thank Frances A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawera, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Looking for the River Queen”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

A long stretch of the river is regarded as a must on any visit to this area. We took a school trip down the river with some giudes and had a great couple of days paddling camping and admiring the amazing scenery. Our giudes had good local knowledge and described where they filmed the 2005 movie "The River Queen". A great and very tiring time was had by all. Apparently the rapids are better depending on the weather. The water level was high this year so we floated calmly over the top of them. Other groups have had much more exciting times

Helpful?
Thank Dec S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Calm and peaceful trip”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I took the short trip on the river which lasted about one hour. It felt very relaxing and peacful, on the quaint paddle steamer,Waimarie. Other trips are available

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“"Waimarie" paddlesteamer”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

A lovely outing on the paddlesteamer. Very relaxing and best way to see the river. One hour to Upokongaro, lunch and historic church, and then back again. The guys in the engine room welcome people to come down and have a chat and watch what they do. On the day I went there was a lovely singer entertaining us - I'm not sure if this is a regular thing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank krudyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whanganui River also viewed

Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Whanganui River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing