We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect overnight stop.”
Review of Siena Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Siena Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect overnight stop.”
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Turned up on spec while travelling from Wellington to Auckland. The room was clean and homely. The beds were clean and comfortable. Fell in love with the spa bath - did my joints the power of good after driving for three hours.

Noel and Marie were very friendly and helpful. Even checking internet on our behalf for the state of the roads that we were due to use after a storm had passed during the night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwes633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    35
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
123
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
241 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

The room was clean, comfortable and well-appointed, with a small private courtyard. The quality of service was excellent: friendly check-in, good recommendations for places to visit in the area etc. Nice continental breakfast.

Free internet would have been a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

The Siena Motorl Lodge is a real treat. I was here one night for business and it was perfect. The hosts are considerate and very welcoming. The unit was very comfortable, brand new everything and very thoughtful small touches like a goodies bowl with some fruit and choc bar was much appreciated. Everything was well looked after and sparkling clean. Double glazing meant no road noise and a good nights sleep. The wireless internet was charged for, but at an actual fair charge!!!
I hardly ever stay in Wanganui, but I will stay here next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We have stayed in various hotels and motels in Wanganui over the past year and have found this to be the best. It was recommended to us and we are glad we took up the recommendation.
The rooms are spick and span - good flat screen TV's and nice clean bathrooms. There is a (good) cafe right next door and a supermarket across the street. You do still need to drive for about 2mins if you want to go to the centre of Wanganui. Noel and his wife are really friendly - without being your new best friends.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SienaWanganui, Owner at Siena Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2010
Thank you very much to taking the time to write a review of our property. We are delighted that you had a great experience here, and your kind words are really appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Very pleasant place to stay, lovely furnishings, extremely comfortable. Very obliging hosts, great to deal with. Was very impressed with the way everything was thought of - handy towels, gladwrap, etc, all the little things that are usually missing. Only thing I would question was that I'm pretty sure it was a disability access unit and the robe hook in the bathroom was really high and would never be reached by anyone in a wheelchair. Was surprised how quiet it was at night - was expecting more traffic noise as on a fairly main street. Handy to everything.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goddygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Marie and Noel must be the most thoughtful moteliers in New Zealand. Their motel is spotlessly clean with comfortable, quality furnishings and A1 bathrooms. All appliances are top brands - and they work. There are many extras, from the basket of goodies which is replenished each day to the free laundry (free washing powder too) which has a quality washing machine and dryer. A designated turning area at the top of the yard avoids you having to back out onto the busy road from 45 degree parking (conveniently outside your room). Old towels are provided so you can wash your car windows. Marie and Noel are always available for you - they're not intrusive, but seem to know if you need help or advice. Check out their web site - you can believe everything that's mentioned on it - and do yourself a favour - go and stay there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somerham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2008

One of the better motels I've stayed at. The owners were lovely and very helpful.
The units were modern and clean and the kitchen equipment looked brand new.
The studio unit was small but I think there are bigger units available.
There was also a bowl of free goodies.

Unfortunately, Wanganui have a problem with youths with loud cars and they tend to roam the streets all night. I assume the noice would be the same at any motel though and we did sleep with the window open.

I woul definately stay there again!

  • Liked — Service, cleanliness, modern
  • Disliked — There's no view
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travellingwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 26 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#18 of 26 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Motor Lodge

Property: Siena Motor Lodge
Address: 335 Victoria Ave, Whanganui 4540, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siena Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4 star plus property consisting of studios and one-bedroom suites. All rooms are ground level with parking (free) outside. Our rooms are spacious, elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean. We have brand new luxury beds and the feed back from our guests confirm that. Well located on Wanganui's main street, just a short walk to the shops and City centre,with restaurants and supermarkets nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Siena Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing