We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Excellence”
Review of Siena Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Siena Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Total Excellence”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

So impressed with this Motel far beyond our expectations it is managed with so much love and efficiency. From decor, unbelievable service, cleanliness, reasonable rates, parking and the quietness yet so close to town and to top it off FREE laundry facilities. We cannot recommend this Motel highly enough it really is worth the 5 point excellent rating.. We have been travelling NZ for a month now on 4 plus ratings and this is one of two we feel really deserve that 5 star rating.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    35
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
123
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at the Siena for one night, Whanganui was a good stopping point on our trip and we deciced to stay based on Trip Advisor revues. Our room was awesome, very spacious, extremely clean and we had a great nights sleep on a very comfortable bed. It is worth ordering the breakfast, it is freshly cooked, delicious and very reasonably priced. We were greeted warmly when we arrived and the level of service during our short stay was wonderful. There was even a small basket of free fruit and nibbles on the table! If we stay in Whanganui again it will be at the Siena Motor Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grantd1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Great property, well maintained, clean and friendly staff. Good location also with a great cafe next door.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aztec007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We can only repeat what the other reviewers have said. I was worried when I arrived to see that the motel was on the main road. However the accommodation block was at right angles to the road and although we had the unit nearest the road, we had no noise at all and slept extremely well in the comfortable beds, and I am a very light sleeper. The unit was extremely well equipped and the extras were lovely - the only motel we stayed in that provided these. We appreciated the free laundry and found the hosts very helpful in advising about and booking trips. It was a little bit of a slog into the town centre, but there were shops nearby. The only little downside was it was very much a town motel so no view and very little sitting out area. Nevertheless, excellent value and absolutely immaculate.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Wonderful, friendly hosts, very clean and very quiet. We were pleased to have stayed here and to know that the TA reviews we read prior to coming were spot on!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I have stayed at a few places in wanganui and Siena is the best. I recommend to all other business travelers.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uglystick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom unit (#8) which was away from the main road. The room was small but very modern and clean. Welcome basket of snacks was a nice touch, especially after a long days drive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 26 in Whanganui
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#18 of 26 in Whanganui
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
0.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Motor Lodge

Property: Siena Motor Lodge
Address: 335 Victoria Ave, Whanganui 4540, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siena Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are rated as a 4 star plus by our guests and most booking engines. We are very proud to offer you corporate studios and one-bedroom spa bath suites. All our rooms have heat pumps/air conditioning, are ground level with parking (free) outside. Our rooms are spacious, elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean. We installed brand new luxury beds so getting a comfortable nights sleep is assured. we are well situated on Wanganui's main street, just a short walk to the shops and City center,with restaurants and supermarkets nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Siena Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing