We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Room & Great Food”
Review of Rutland Arms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rutland Arms Inn
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed January 23, 2008

We stayed there for 4 nights as a base to get up to the National Parks to the North and East. The Rutland Arms is a charming place, so much better value than the local motels, with excellent food served in the Pub downstairs or in the courtyard garden. A varied menu, complemented by wine and beers from around the world, served by a very friendly and helpful team of people. Only small downside was lack of aircon, compensated for by an effective ceiling fan and open windows allowing us to share the fun of some Friday night revellers in the street outside!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OxfordHobbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 79 of 79 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the very charming Rutland Arms Inn for about ten days and had the most wonderful time. We stayed in the Rutland Suite, which was basically a room, but very comfortable.
The staff are incredibly friendly, especially the wait and bar staff in the pub downstairs (which has a great ambience and a roaring log fire every night). They're a happy bunch, know their menu well and aren't afraid to offer opinions and spirited recommendations about the fare on offer, which is so refreshing.
We also thought the food was almost perfect - the portions were worryingly large, and they do love their fries, but the lamb shank is truly spectacular.
I loved the way we were fussed over, especially by the people serving us breakfast - their attention to detail was touching, they knew exactly what our preferences were, down to what sort of coffee each of us preferred, and when!
Wanganui is a lovely little town with possibly the friendliest people on the planet, (it has a great newspaper as well!) and the Rutland is one of its best features.
We're definitely going back.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rishadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2006

we stayed a night in the rutland arms in the "york suite" which was great value for money. We had a nice suite and spent the evening in the pub which served great food.
Wanganui is a smart clean town on the river and well worth a visit

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank webb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Gustav Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.8 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 26 in Whanganui
130 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
0.9 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Inn

Address: 48-52 Ridgway Street | Corner Victoria Avenue & Ridgway Street, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whanganui
Price Range: $108 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rutland Arms Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Rutland Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rultland Arms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing