We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family value. Top hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astral Motel & Apartments
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
“Great family value. Top hospitality”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have stayed at the Astral a few times over the years and it has ticked all the boxes for our family. The operator provided us with fresh strawberries from his garden as we arrived in today. Excellent garden setting and clean and very comfortable rooms. The kids walked to Kowhai riverside park while we relaxed outside with a plunger coffee. This motel is thoroughly recommended by us.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank neville m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
21
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

As a family of 5, the Astra was surprisingly ideal and we would be happy to stay there again. Directly across the road from the river, 2 mins drive to the main shops and easy entry/exit. Lovely, clean rooms with plenty of bedding and clean bath towels with the usual essentials nicely arranged on the bench top. There was a lovely garden to the left on entering the motel with a small playground and paddling pool which our girls enjoyed. Located on a busy street, we didn't notice the noise and enjoyed a good night's sleep. Good value for money, lovely managers and a lovely place to visit..

Room Tip: Ideal play to stay for families..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiAdventurers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just across the river bridge from the best kids park in the country, as voted by our daughter... The 50+ channel SKY TV satisfied the family needs and free Wi-Fi helps too. Easy to find and good parking. If you are looking for something shiny and new, this is not it. If you are like us and look for rooms that are spacious and clean with service that is genuine and friendly, then you should feel at home here. Great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the Astral for one night in March 2013. At first sight, given the location of the Astral we thought it would be noisy but were pleasantly surprised to hear no traffic noise at all. Our unit was very clean and the bed was comfortable, notably fridge was remarkably quiet. Free internet was of high quality, a wide screen TV was provided with a good selection of Sky channels. We found the owner to be very welcoming and helpful and would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzkeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night only. Road noise terrible, no aircon so needed all the windows open. The double bed was terrible. The shower head was broken with water spurting everywhere and the front sliding door could be lifted and opened by hand after having locked it with the key. The owner was approached and shown this fault whereby he was surprised but offered not apology or remedy and walked off. We payed $120 for two adults and two children, but one child had to sleep on the couch! Very poor value, unimpressed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank thedoyles4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astralmotel, Owner at Astral Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We were unable to get tradesmen in as it was 3 o'clock on a Saturday afternoon.The lady who booked 2 units said one person could stay in her room when she was offered another bed in the room.$120 is not excessive when the whole town is booked out.Properties with aircon charge anything from $170 upwards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed for a few nights over Xmas holidays. Great service and location in the Wanganui area. Kids loved the play area and park and river right opposite. Everything Wanganui has to offer within walking distance. Spotlessly clean and friendly staff. Great value for money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossmck65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights over Xmas. Friendly hosts. Very fussy wife declared that the standard of cleanliness very high. Excellent location - handy to everything.
Vehicle access was good with no traffic worries. Good Sky T.V. coverage.

Room Tip: Get a 1 bedroom with lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnasmith48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.6 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 26 in Whanganui
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
293 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coachman's Lodge
Coachman's Lodge
#13 of 26 in Whanganui
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astral Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astral Motel & Apartments

Property: Astral Motel & Apartments
Address: Corner Dublin Street & Sommer Parade 45 Somme Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astral Motel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Astral Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing