We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of space. Great value and location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astral Motel & Apartments
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just across the river bridge from the best kids park in the country, as voted by our daughter... The 50+ channel SKY TV satisfied the family needs and free Wi-Fi helps too. Easy to find and good parking. If you are looking for something shiny and new, this is not it. If you are like us and look for rooms that are spacious and clean with service that is genuine and friendly, then you should feel at home here. Great value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Astral Motel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 57 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the Astral for one night in March 2013. At first sight, given the location of the Astral we thought it would be noisy but were pleasantly surprised to hear no traffic noise at all. Our unit was very clean and the bed was comfortable, notably fridge was remarkably quiet. Free internet was of high quality, a wide screen TV was provided with a good selection of Sky channels. We found the owner to be very welcoming and helpful and would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzkeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night only. Road noise terrible, no aircon so needed all the windows open. The double bed was terrible. The shower head was broken with water spurting everywhere and the front sliding door could be lifted and opened by hand after having locked it with the key. The owner was approached and shown this fault whereby he was surprised but offered not apology or remedy and walked off. We payed $120 for two adults and two children, but one child had to sleep on the couch! Very poor value, unimpressed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank thedoyles4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astralmotel, Owner at Astral Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

We were unable to get tradesmen in as it was 3 o'clock on a Saturday afternoon.The lady who booked 2 units said one person could stay in her room when she was offered another bed in the room.$120 is not excessive when the whole town is booked out.Properties with aircon charge anything from $170 upwards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed for a few nights over Xmas holidays. Great service and location in the Wanganui area. Kids loved the play area and park and river right opposite. Everything Wanganui has to offer within walking distance. Spotlessly clean and friendly staff. Great value for money

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossmck65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights over Xmas. Friendly hosts. Very fussy wife declared that the standard of cleanliness very high. Excellent location - handy to everything.
Vehicle access was good with no traffic worries. Good Sky T.V. coverage.

Room Tip: Get a 1 bedroom with lounge
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnasmith48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here after a three day/two night canoe trip of the Whanganui River. The owner was super friendly and the facilities well suited for the groceries and meal preparation we did. Internet was free and fast, something not often found. The room was spacious and comfortable and the location great as well. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventurePhiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

You know if you are only paying $NZ75 per night this won't be a five star experience, but the Astral Motel provided all I needed during a six night budget stay in Whanganui, which included limitless free wi-fi. In spite of being near the road my unit was perfectly quiet, no problem sleeping at all. The guest laundry was perfectly adequate, so I could catch up on a week's washing. I visit Whanganui from time to time, and will stay here again if I'm on a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.5 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.6 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#4 of 26 in Whanganui
143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astral Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astral Motel & Apartments

Address: Corner Dublin Street & Sommer Parade 45 Somme Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: $56 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astral Motel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Astral Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing