We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to sleep..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Collegiate
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed here on a recent trip to Wanganui to do some work and took our kids since it was school holiday time. As mentioned previously this place is - to be polite - a "retro" establishment! It has not had much work done to it for decades. Having said that though, it was clean and the beds were comfortable and it was fine for us. I always like to look for positives and this place appears to be well run and is well located, although if you have no car it's a reasonable walk to the main central shopping area.

Wanganui is a very pretty place, well kept with lovely old buildings and lots of character. The river adds another dimension to the layout of the town and there are some interesting places to visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duffadil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn Collegiate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 44 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed here one night as part of a tour group traveling around the North Island. The Collegiate is in a nice, quiet part of Wanganui which means a bit of a walk if you don't have a car. The room was clean and comfortable. Overall, the Collegiate is an average sort of place to stay - nothing remarkable but also nothing objectionable.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
Thank PJS-from-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Way overpriced for an outdated one bedroom room. Old furniture, fittings, kitchen. good location but they need to spend some money on it to be charging such outrageous rates. Do not reccomend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The hotel is seriously dated, they havn't spent any money on it since the 70's from what I can tell. Needs a refurb desperately. Hurry up and get satellite too, the TV reception is terrible, some channels you can't even watch. Restaurant is quite nice though. Not much to choose from in Wanganui, it is bit if a hole though if you ask me...

Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank johnnybravo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed here for only 1 night, thankfully. We were traveling with a 14 month old who was still crawling and not walking. After 5 minutes of crawling around, her hands, knees and toes were black from the carpet. It was disgusting. I did not want her touching anything. We thought we would get a 1 bedroom room for the space, but the cot had to be placed in the living room as it did not fit in the bedroom. The portable cot supplied was also old and did not stay up if we put pressure on the sides. overall, was glad to get out of there the next day.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbourne37yo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Stay here regularly and at similar places in other main centres. It's not the newest place on the block the rooms are little dated 70's style, however the Collegiate compares very well in every other way. It is well located with clean good sized rooms. The staff are always friendly. One big attraction is the good well priced meals. At the end of a long day there is no need to go looking for somewhere to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We have stayed at the Collegiate before, changing to the Collegiate after a bad experience at another Wanganui Motel. The Collegiate is definately dated, but that is more than made up for by the execllent service from the staff and the convenience of having a Restaurant on the premises and being very close to town. We used the Restaurant and the Room service on this trip and found the meals were very nice and good value. This was highlighted by the lunch we had at the Rutland Hotel on the Monday which was well overpriced for the type of food served. The Basin & Victoria Lake are worth a visit. In the summer a fish & chip dinner while watching the colored light fountain at Victoria Lake is a good way to spend the evening, especially if you have young children.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginga14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.1 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 26 in Whanganui
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#8 of 26 in Whanganui
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Collegiate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Collegiate

Address: 122 Liverpool Street, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: $101 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Inn Collegiate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Collegiate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Wanganui
Wanganui Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing