We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Unfortunately unlike other reviewers we did NOT experience great staff service. Ingnored in the restaurant, after finally seating us they did not return for a drinks order for another ten minutes. Can not fault the food which was excellent, but the service was extremely slow,and no it was not busy, only two other tables. Weren't acknowledged at the end of our meal, seems all the staff had gone home ??? Same problem in the morning at breakfast. Disappointing.
The rooms are indeed old and tired but kept very clean. Unfortunately outside our door we kept tripping over discarded cabinetry from other rooms. After ten at night, which I don't consider very late, we had to use a back entrance as the foyer was closed. Very dark and uncomfortable 'sneaking' in by the back door. Could not recommend this hotel sorry.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 408MichelleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 107 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great spot, hotel old & tired AND immaculately clean (congrats to the cleaning staff, amazing effort), very well presented. Excellent service, thanks to the ladies at Reception & in the Bar. Fantastic food. I thought we had it good in Dunsborough, but out classed by excellence in quality of scallops, prawns & lamb, put together simply with attention to detail.
Rooms large, old, tired, quiet, clean & very comfortable. A gem

Room Tip: We stayed in main hotel. Free wifi. Bar as good as restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEK284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were given directions to look out for Pak'nSave, Countdown, New World and Mad Butcher - great - but Hotel signage from street a little hidden by lovely trees. Once there you will be pleased with excellent car parking. Reception area a tad drab but the very helpful and welcoming staff are more important than the decor. Forget that the hotel is in need of a brightening upgrade. The rooms are adequate for the value. Beds comfortable, good tv,, Small bathroom - but that ok as very good shower and good hot water supply and pressure. A large pool for guests that was well maintained with sheltered seating alcoves around it - great for families or groups. A number of Motel style units around the pool area - but these are not advertised in the hotel website of the AA directory ?? Well located hotel close to shops Supermarkets, St John's Club, Restaurants & Cafes, McDonalds and Burger King etc.

Room Tip: Probably best to try for a room on the first level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

What a magnificent experience my wife, her mother and brother and myself enjoyed at the Christmas Meal provided at the Kingsgate Restaurant, Wanganui today. I am glad that Sharon booked us in early in the year as there were a lot of people there. A great menu and as always, very friendly but not intrusive staff and management. We will most surely be back next year.
I recall reading a review where the person suggested a complimentary drink to guests. Get real that person, as we have been in the Food Business and know how hard it is out there.
WE HAVE NO COMPLAINTS AT ALL. WELL DONE. Rod Newport

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Roddynewport3410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our room was spacious and was clean., However I felt that this hotel looked tired and worn out.The whole place felt gloomy and was lacking atmosphere. The bathroom suite needed updating.The person on reception was polite but robotic.The room cost was fair, but I would look for somewhere more inspiring next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights in this hotel.Clean beautiful beds, to sleep in.You have a choice of a bath or shower not very common these days.lovely breakfast each morning. Excellent staff welcomed and very pleasant.

Room Tip: We were on the road side but the traffic didn't bother us as the drapes were heavy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

In town for a friend's wedding anniversary lunch, we opted to stay where most of the party were staying and we weren't disappointed. It would appear that the owners of the hotel have been steadily improving the facilities as the bathroom on our lower level room was brand new ... unlike the guests on the top floor who had to put up with something a little older.

Very helpful, friendly staff, a great bar called 'Mixx' and generally a good stay all round. My only comment would be unusual design of the Breakfast Room/Restaurant. It was hard to find where you were supposed to be sitting and also no hot buffet. It was cooked to order instead. Just as well because it was very tasty!

Room Tip: Until they finish the renovations of the bathrooms ... choose a downstairs room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our new bathrooms. We are currently renovating the top floor as well. The Mixx bar is great for functions and I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfasts off the menu. Its great that the facilities suited you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.1 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 26 in Whanganui
133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.7 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#15 of 26 in Whanganui
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#4 of 26 in Whanganui
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui

Address: 379 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand (Formerly The Avenue Hotel And Conf Ctr)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: $91 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing