We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The prefect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights in this hotel.Clean beautiful beds, to sleep in.You have a choice of a bath or shower not very common these days.lovely breakfast each morning. Excellent staff welcomed and very pleasant.

Room Tip: We were on the road side but the traffic didn't bother us as the drapes were heavy
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

In town for a friend's wedding anniversary lunch, we opted to stay where most of the party were staying and we weren't disappointed. It would appear that the owners of the hotel have been steadily improving the facilities as the bathroom on our lower level room was brand new ... unlike the guests on the top floor who had to put up with something a little older.

Very helpful, friendly staff, a great bar called 'Mixx' and generally a good stay all round. My only comment would be unusual design of the Breakfast Room/Restaurant. It was hard to find where you were supposed to be sitting and also no hot buffet. It was cooked to order instead. Just as well because it was very tasty!

Room Tip: Until they finish the renovations of the bathrooms ... choose a downstairs room!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our new bathrooms. We are currently renovating the top floor as well. The Mixx bar is great for functions and I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfasts off the menu. Its great that the facilities suited you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Its an old hotel which could do with some TLC but still clean and comfortable. Room furnishings are new, but bathrooms old and dated.
Good breakfast.
Location not central to shops and resturants, but can walk up hill easily to Virginia Lake.

Room Tip: Ground floor units that back out into the grassy central pool area are nice
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am glad that you found your room clean and comfortable. Our housekeeping staff work hard to keep the rooms in top condition. We are currently renovating the bathrooms throughout the hotel so I hope that next time you stay your room will have a new bathroom. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Nice family stay in the 1 bedrm family suite, older style with modern kitchen but comfortable. I had a discounted rate, not sure I would have liked to have paid full rate for it thought. Decided to dine in the restaurant/bar thank goodness - fabulous food and they halved a normal main for the kids, was no problem. Would stay again in the summer as the pool looks great! Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meegsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant, the staff work hard to provide great service and delicious food. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. The swimming pool is nice and warm at the moment. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Car park location right outside in winter wet conditions, friendly welcome staff on arrival. Our room & beds were comfortable, handy to everything required. Hot water bottles were made available, but not required as the room was warm on a winter night. Bar staff friendly & organised a taxi for our evening trip out. Our only disappointment is that there was no 24 hr. room service, for a late night toasted sandwich if I need to complain at anything. Loved the cooked breakfast the next morning it was one of the best we had had in years. Thanks Kingsgate Hotel for a great value stay, we look forward to returning.
Sue T.

Room Tip: Great location, handy to all food options etc. great value.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us during the winter. Its great that the facilities suited you. I am pleased that you enjoyed our Mixx bar and the staff in there. We do have a 24hour Mcdonalds open just along the road for those late night snacks. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A winter stay in Wanganui was warm and comfortable at The Kingsgate. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room and beds were comfortable however decor is a little dated. The car parked right outside the door was very handy in the wet wintery conditions. Being on Victoria Ave there are plenty of food outlets close by, a bottle store adjacent and a supermarket across the road for the budget minded. I have previously eaten in the restaurant for family functions and the food was reasonably priced and tasty. I didn't test the pool as it looked a bit cold but it was right outside the front door...good for parents wanting to watch children. Wifi was free but tricky to connect to iDevices.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobMcMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Despite no reservation when we arrived (problem with our travel agent?) we were made very welcome and a room was quickly found which was both very comfortable and roomy. While a city centre hotel, the décor and the standards of the facilities on offer was excellent and easily found. We had breakfast and dinner both nights of our stay and were very happy with the quality and choice on offer. We certainly did not go hungry! The reception desk was very helpful in providing help and guidance to what was on offer in the city which was an enjoyable short walk away. A very good base to have to explore the whole area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian5982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay. Our reception staff work hard to make a guests stay enjoyable and rewarding, I am glad that you benefited from their local knowledge of the area. That is great that you enjoyed our meals. We look forward to seeing you again. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.1 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Collegiate
Quality Inn Collegiate
#14 of 26 in Whanganui
44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Wanganui
Econo Lodge Wanganui
#19 of 26 in Whanganui
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui

Address: 379 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand (Formerly The Avenue Hotel And Conf Ctr)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: $99 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing