We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I had to vernight for a work trip, stayed in hotel. It was quiet and the room was clean and comfortbale for a short stay. Water pressure on shower ( old style over bath ) could have been stronger but at least water temp was good.

Tried the food in local restaurant to hotel attached - service was very slow andnot worth it - go down the road much better local places to eat at

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATKNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    32
    36
    13
    9
See reviews for
22
30
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

70s, yes, tired, yes, but also warm, clean and quiet. We stayed in a lower front room facing the main road and there were no weird smells or collapsing shower heads. It lacked charm, but neither did it have that musty feeling of despair that I've come across many a time in New Zealand hotels and motels. Reception closes at 10, but it's not as if you're locked in (or out) after that - you just go in the side entrance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback, it is greatly appreciated. I am glad that you found the room warm, clean and quiet. This winter we will be upgrading rooms to give a more modern feel. On Sundays and Mondays the reception closes at 10pm and at 11pm every other night. However we do have night managers on everynight who are more than happy to check people in at any time. We welcome guests at every hour of the day or night. Hotel guests can come and go as they like with their own keys opening the side entrance doors. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you return to the rivercity. Kind Regards Freya & Clayton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had two nights here over the Vintage Car National rally weekend and were extremely pleased with the hotel.
I had made the booking over the phone several months ahead, checked the week before we were due to stay and everything was exactly right. They even managed a room upgrade for us at a time when Wanganui was bursting at the seams. Check in was fast, and the receptionist friendly and helpful. Room was large with two queen sized beds, very clean, well equipped with a view over the garden. Next morning the receptionist escorted me to the gym as it was a bit of a rabbit warren out the back. Very big swimming pool, plenty of parking and within easy walking distance of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annenewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freya N, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the Vintage Car Rally. The car rally was great for Wanganui. We hope that you are able to come and stay again in the future. Kind Regards Freya & Clayton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This decor in this hotel is stuck in the 70's. It was clean and tidy but really... $145 ( "special" price on WOTIF) for that room..... Small, very dated, no air conditioning, ..... Thank goodness we only paid for one night.... Definitely not "hotel" value or quality. Serious need of upgrading rooms to warrant charging those rates....Won't come back here.
The second night I booked at Siena Motel - 2 doors down, for just a little more $, we got very nice, modern spacious one bedroom unit with all the modern fittings, spa bath, lovely utilities in bathroom and kitchen, fabulous personalised service from the owners incl complimentary goodies bowl on arrival, full kitchen, able to make ourselves tea, coffee, extensive selection on SkyTV... Highly recommend Siema.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SinaMoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whanganui hotels

Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I only stayed for one night and found the hotel to be adequate. We had to race to the hotel after driving up from Wellington. The reason for this was the hotel reception closes at 10 PM. They literally lock up the front door and reception staff go home.

The room on the first floor was large and clean. I really only needed a place to shower and kip before leaving early in the morning.

@ $145 a night it seemed expensive for what it was. They have the cheek to add 4% if you're paying by credit card.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HK355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

One night visit (very brief) to attend a course the next day. Arrived late (just after 10pm) but reception was closed; fortunately the bar manager was able to allow me to check in. My room was on the first floor and must have been one of their superior rooms - I managed 11 steps across the length - it was massive.

Bed comfy, large LCD TV with lots of satellite channels. Tea and coffee facilities in room including a plunger.

Agree with other comments, very dated, but in my opinion clean and well maintained. The bathroom was the real old fashioned bit, not in a stylish way, more in a 'Made in the 1970's' way. The shower was a bit disappointing. I don't know how warm it would be in the depths of winter, as there only seemed to be an old wall heater.

Breakfast in the restaurant was self service and very good. The poached eggs were divine and the coffee fantastic.

I can comment re. those who stated 'a bit like a motel'. The rooms at the rear were very motel like; however, they also overlooked a very substantial pool (which was very cold!!)

I can't comment about the dinner options, but the food on the course was very nice!

Room Tip: Those near the front seem bigger (they are numbered 8**)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank big_ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Very dated accommodation but friendly staff. Bistro bar food wasexcellent. The bed was comfortable but some of the services lackd quality. Wifi is not free, forgot to give me utensils with my breakfast on the first morning and didn't get the free newspaper only the extra one I paid for and they forgot to give me the one I was paying for on my last morning there. If you have luggage and you are not on the ground floor it can be a mission to take your bags to your room as there is no lift. I would rate it as average but there is other accommodation in Wanganui that is much better value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.1 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Collegiate
Quality Inn Collegiate
#14 of 26 in Whanganui
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#4 of 26 in Whanganui
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui

Property: Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Address: 379 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand (Formerly The Avenue Hotel And Conf Ctr)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing