We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable”

Spirit of the River Jet - Whanganui River
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spectacular outdoor experience on the Whanganui River - jet boating to The Bridge to Nowhere with experienced local hosts, complete mountain biking packages for the Mountains to the Sea Cycle Trail, and the Mangapurua/Bridge to Nowhere Cycle Trail. We also arrange guided canoe tours for groups, run by experienced local Maori hosts. Wonderful experience with good people.The scenery is fantastic, out of this world, this is why New Zealand is the film makers paradise!
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I was amazed by the way this family had invited us into their Marae,showing us such great hospitality with their friendly manner and loving personalities. I have travelled to different parts of the world before,but have never felt so welcomed into someones family as i was on this occasion.It was a great joy to share with them their culture and way of life. Fantastic to watch the dancing, and the singing was absolutely amazing. I was so interested in how the hangi was done and found it a great experience to be involved in such a wonderful culture that the NZ people carry on with ( and the meal was devine).Floating down the river being connected with nature again was a high light and great team bonding was done by all. I have recommend this place to all i have spoke to and would love to take my kids there myself 1 day. I can not thank you enough for this wonderful experience and for sharing your family and culture with us. Love Tracy xo

Thank TracyP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 11 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2012

We've had this trip in Jan 2012 and everything has been really great. Both the booking and the trip have been flawless. We've had great fun out on the boat with Brent for six hours and the landscape of Whanganui River and the walk to the "Bridge to nowhere" are really amazing.Kate's picnic was the best food we had in New Zealand.

Thank Blackmage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireBrent, Owner at Spirit of the River Jet - Whanganui River, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Kia ora to our friends in Vienna, Austria!

Thank you for choosing to enjoy a wonderful experience with us - a great tonic in the middle of a busy holiday in our country.

Booking our boat for a private family tour is the perfect way to really enjoy our company, uninterrupted, and good quality family time.

Thank you for your compliments - we are glad you enjoyed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My wife and I, along with one other couple, had the opportunity to spend the day with Brent on the river. It was a day none of us will forget...beautiful scenery, Brent's running commentary, Claire's shortbread, winding trails to `nowhere'. With everything there is to do in NZ this trip is not a should do but a MUST DO! When we return to NZ we will definitely be looking up Brent and Claire.

1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireBrent, Owner at Spirit of the River Jet - Whanganui River, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

Thank you for your compliments - the Whanganui River/Whanganui National Park is indeed a beautiful place, and we are proud to be able to introduce our visitors to its wonders.
Glad you had a great day out with Spirit of the River Jet - see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This has been one of our top 5 highlights of the North Island and we have seen a lot! The boat ride, the history, having lunch on the Bridge to Nowhere, the hosts just everything about this screams out genuinely worthwhile. It's remoteness and isolation make it all the more worthwhile, this trip is New Zealand, not a tourist trap!

1  Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireBrent, Owner at Spirit of the River Jet - Whanganui River, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

Thank you - this certainly is real raw New Zealand! We are fortunate to live in such a beautiful place, and to show the world what is hidden away off the Highways.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My wife, two 14 year old boys and myself took a three hour round trip up the Whanganui River. It was all that you could have asked for and appealed to teenagers and parents alike. The river and the scenery were beautiful. The journey was both relaxing and exciting, as we sat back and travelled along the river at speed. About one hour up the river we stopped, had coffee and tasty home made muffins and cake provided by Brent (the driver) who then took us for a short walk through some lovely scenery. The trip down the river to Whanganui was as good as on the way up, and the spin at the end was a great finish. We did this the last day of July. It must be even better in spring or summer. Fabulous. Gerard Lyons

Thank Gerard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireBrent, Owner at Spirit of the River Jet - Whanganui River, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

Thank you - it is a big plus to live on the longest navigable river in New Zealand - the Whanganui River. This gives us at Spirit of the River Jet so many special places to show our visitors - from a whole day out for those with time, to a shorter trip like you experienced, to allow you to do other activities for the rest of the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit of the River Jet - Whanganui River also viewed

Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing