We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee, bad baking.”
Review of Rapido Expresso - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rapido Expresso
Description: 06 347 9475. Doesn't seem to have a website. I moved to Wanganui a year ago and this place has become my new local. It's been around for years and is a fine place I'd be happy to review and point out to travellers. I particularly like it because it uses organic milk and fair trade coffee and cocoa.
Restaurant details
Description: 06 347 9475. Doesn't seem to have a website. I moved to Wanganui a year ago and this place has become my new local. It's been around for years and is a fine place I'd be happy to review and point out to travellers. I particularly like it because it uses organic milk and fair trade coffee and cocoa.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good coffee, bad baking.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The coffee and environment was great, however all of the baking appeared to be days old and stale. This may be nicer on the day when they bake, but it wasn't very pleasant when we went.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great Coffee”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fab coffee, always remembers the order and made perfectly. Nice place to go with the other half and to chat and catch up on life.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank StMason4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cute little coffee place”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a cute place!

Coffee was good, interior was sweet and the lemon tea loaf was delicious.

Blink and you might miss it, it's in an old house, but nice to chill out for a while with a morning coffee.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Orourkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a little different”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

if you like old world charm and organic coffee this is the place to go.its quirky and most days very busy.The owner makes great morning tea scones.They do not have a loyalty system which most cafes do which is a bit disappointing as its the dearest in town.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank riccisone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Little Cafe in Wanganui”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Located in an old house, Rapido is a welcoming, quaint and cosy cafe that has charm and ambience as well as outstanding coffee and treats.

Cakes etc are cooked on the spot and are absolutely wonderful. Fair Trade and Organic available (even organic milk).

Although sandwiches are not on the menu, if you ask, they will make you an awesome ham or vege salad sandwich.

Cool little porch at the front is a great option on a nice day.

I am local, and Rapido is definitely a favourite.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Di J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rapido Expresso also viewed

Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing