We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very fun trip”
Review of Waimarie

Waimarie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Undoubtedly the most authentic way to experience Whanganui River’s scenery and history. Regular cruises aboard the iconic Waimarie Paddle Steamer - NZ’s only coal-fired paddle steamer operating from the golden riverboat era - are available during warmer months (October - April) and private charter cruises can be made by arrangement anytime. View cruise entertainment, timetable, prices and purchase tickets online or at the Waimarie Centre, where you can also uncover river memorabilia at the Waimarie Museum and marvel at a 134-year old architecturally designed building.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A very fun trip”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We really enjoy steam... anything, really. It sounded like a good time to ride the old stam-powered, paddle-driven riverboat. We even got 2 for 1 coupons from our motel. The ride was great. Not only did we get to experience an abreviated (2 hour) version of an old-fashioned river excursion, but we got to shovel coal into the furnace and even steer the boat! We were allowed to go everywhere and see everything and it was a truly good time. I was grinning the whole time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Khaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    25
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“interesting and fun riverboat ride”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

located a short walk from the city centre. a two hour boat ride on a paddle steamer, plus intersting and informative historic displays at the centre. you can book you ride from the centre, online or by phone. we phoned after hours, left a message and we were called back. it was very easy.

the ride takes you up the scenic Whangnaui River. A crew member gives you a introductory commentary on the history of the boat and it's original owner. The whole crew are friendly and were able to answer questions about the river, the area and it's history.

It's an relaxing two hour ride. there are undercover as well as outdoor areas on the boat. The was a nice tea room that did some great scones. And passengers are invited to visit the engine room and even shovel coal, if they wish.

Nice to enjoy the scenery from the vantage point of the river, instead of theough the windsreen of a car while negotiating the windy road!

This is a gentle and relaxing trip, and we recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yippopotamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Interesting museum and lovely paddle boat trip”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked a trip on the Paddle Steamer Waimarie at the local I-site and found when we arrived that on the quay was this fascinating museum which explained the history, not only of the paddle boats but of the river generally. Although all the information was there the presentation could have been improved -the place had a rather untidy air -hence 4 instead of 5 out of 5.
The river boat trip was lovely. The crew on the boat were very friendly and happy to answer questions. A commentary was provided but was not always easy to hear. More speakers may have helped.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

What a lovely experience. Cruising sedately up the river for an hour, then docked for an hour to enjoy the supplied picnic and have a look around the little vilage of Upokongaro before returning to Wanganui. The crew were on the Waimarie were excellent, the commentary was informative without being too much and the singer, delighful. She has a lovely voice and we were entertained with everything from Adele to Carole King, delightful. The Waimarie was perfect for this and even though we had over 100 passengers on board it wasn't too many. It was very interesting to be able to go into the engine room and see how things were done 100 years ago. We can also recomend the coffee and scones, yum.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maraekakaho
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Waimarie”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Riverboat ride, 3 hours, lovely ride, 1 hour up river stop for an hour for lunch then 1 hour ride back, very nice and enjoyable would strongly reccommend. Book on internet for a secure booking and ticket.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank amparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waimarie also viewed

Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Waimarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing