We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Famous Raetihi pies”
Review of Kristy’s Cafe

Kristy’s Cafe
Ranked #15 of 90 Restaurants in Whanganui
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Kristys Café is known WORLDWIDE for our FAMOUS RAETIHI PIE, Amazing Food, Coffee, Service and Atmosphere.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Famous Raetihi pies”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The pies from Kristies are to die for. Great flakey pastry, the most generous fillings, every pie filled to the top with scrumptious food. These are the very best pies that I have ever eaten, generous size and reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    37
    11
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a hit, never had a miss”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The pumpkin and bacon soup was delicious. Must try the pies next time. They look awesome. Friendly attentive service every time. Good stop off point between New Plymouth and Wellington. Nice ambience.

Helpful?
Thank Meansbynomeans
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than a good pie here”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I visited Kristy's every day while staying at the motel on the same premises (151 on London). I agree with other reviewers that this cafe is a gem. One day I worked on my laptop here from breakfast to 4pm, and the owners were just so hospitable. Wise too - they offer small and large size versions of their sweet slices. Like. One day I will return to try the plus-size lamingtons!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 20Weekend-away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristy_leeWanganui, Owner at Kristy’s Cafe, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Thank you for your review we were more then happy to help you out, we encourage everyone to stay as long as they like and enjoy the café..
Lee and.kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty Pies”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Lovely tasy pies Generous meaty filling Heaps of flavours Can fill a strapping 15 year old boy up after rugby

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DKM52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Pies are legendary!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I took friends to Kristy's...they were passing through on their way south and we called in for an early lunch. There were lots of tables to choose from and people from all walks of life seemed to be eating here.
Pies were chosen (what a selection - you are spoilt for choice!) however they stuck with the old favourites... mince and cheese/steak and cheese. The wife couldn't eat the whole pie (even though she loved the flavour!) so the husband willingly finished it off for her - after finishing his own as well and declared them "hearty feeds". They reckoned the satisfaction would last them till they got home (to the mainland!)
The coffee and tea were hot and good and I enjoyed my scone too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kristy’s Cafe also viewed

Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Kristy’s Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing