We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Pies in New Zealand, in fact, the World !”
Review of Kristy’s Cafe

Kristy’s Cafe
Ranked #16 of 90 Restaurants in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Kristys Café is known WORLDWIDE for our FAMOUS RAETIHI PIE, Amazing Food, Coffee, Service and Atmosphere.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Pies in New Zealand, in fact, the World !”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Every time we go into Kristy's, it's the same. Brilliant !
The food and coffee are excellent and their lemon ginger and honey drink is an award winner. The staff are always happy, relaxed and friendly. Best thing they ever did was bringing their famous Raetihi pies to Wanganui. Kristy's collections of old tools, timber jacks and all sorts is really interesting and is displayed very well. Parkings easy too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frances A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristy_leeWanganui, Owner at Kristy’s Cafe, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our cafe...Every reveiw, comment or feedback we get lets us know we're running our cafe how it should be, for the enjoyment, comfort and pleasure of everybody who comes through our doors....thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    36
    11
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Cafe”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Amazing pies, wonderful staff, love the set up of premises. Look forward to dropping in again when we are back in NZ

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jody101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristy_leeWanganui, Owner at Kristy’s Cafe, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. Each and every review is always appreciated as it lets us know what we can improve on and what it is that you like.
Our motto is..."treat everyone who walks through our café door as we would like to be treated".
I hope we achieved this with you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic food and service!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Kristys pies are fantastic. Range of flavors to suit every taste. The staff are all friendly and always happy to chat a little while serving customers. The set up of the cafe is nicely casual yet comfortable. Love it, kristys pies on a sat morning is fast becoming a tradition :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lazza1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristy_leeWanganui, Owner at Kristy’s Cafe, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate what you had to say and are happy you enjoyed your visit with us..
Every review is a great way to find out what we need to improve on to make every person who walks through our café door enjoy their experience with us..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for Bruch”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We called in on a Saturday early pm. The Cappucino was as good as I have had. Only had sandwiches and cake for lunch but they were excellent. Was also impressed with the quality of food presented. Would have loved to try one of the pies but watching the calories. The menu appeared to cater for most tastes. A pleasant setting with good service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW Australia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“The Raetihi pies are the best”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Raetihi pies are delicious, they are packed full with delicious meat fillings, and are ever so tasty. The pastry is light and fluffy.

This is one of the best pies I've ever had, so really worthwhile trying. Other food they had also looked really nice, we just had the pies and it was nice to be able to sit down and enjoy them on a crockery plate with cutlery for no extra price.

They also provided glasses and water, so it made for a very inexpensive yummy lunch. The pies were $6.00 each and well worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hokeypokeysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kristy’s Cafe also viewed

Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Kristy’s Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing