We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly much less than New Zealand's usual standard. Avoid if possible.”
Review of Acacia Park Motel

Acacia Park Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whanganui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acacia Park Motel
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We arrived to find the advertised 2 acres of mature native and exotic trees was a neglected and untidy site. We had to move a large potted shrub from outside our unit door in order to park the car as our room for two people was so small we had to leave our luggage in the car. There was no room to open the cases in the unit! The sink/draining board areas were piled up with equipment and there was no room to even make a cup of tea. Annoyingly the more spacious unit next door was empty! In general we found it very unwelcoming and were glad we had only booked one night.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonLondonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2010

The reviewer in January says it all. This property is old and needs updating. The bedding was clean and comfortable, but that was all. Check-in was brusque and not welcoming. Unit was noisy on the street. Can't believe some of the guide books gave this a good rating.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokeylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

beds comfortable, linen fresh but otherwise basis and dusty. Abrupt and brusque service, not welcoming or friendly. Door knob on bedroom door broken subsequently locking our 3 yr old daughter in not once but twice. Information out of date in room. Front units very near road so quite noisy. Only 3 tv channels and other chattles nailed to the wall - felt like a prison. However if all you wanted was a comfortable clean bed then this is it. No evidence of day spa in sight.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Not to be confused with Acacia Lodge Motel, as I was when searching to write my review!
The owners are friendly and really go out of their way to make your stay memorable.
There is so much to do with the kids, Kowhai Park is just across the road. I had the most relaxing time aswell with the Day Spa and Beauty Clinic right on the premises, the treatments are fantastic and really reasonable! They have large grounds for the kids to play, so they were mostly outside

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank babygNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshineSouthAfrica, Manager at Acacia Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

Thank you and always a pleasure from our side having guests leave on a happy note

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.5 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#15 of 26 in Whanganui
59 reviews
1.1 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
251 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#4 of 26 in Whanganui
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 26 in Whanganui
130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
174 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Park Motel

Address: 140 Anzac Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Hotel Class:3 star — Acacia Park Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing