We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, comfortable, Friendly Motel”
Review of Acacia Park Motel

Acacia Park Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whanganui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acacia Park Motel
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value, comfortable, Friendly Motel”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Sonja is very welcoming and extremely helpful with local information and helping to book local services. Rooms are very clean and comfortable in quiet surroundings. Location is nicely on the outskirts of town, close to the river but within an easy stroll to the lively town centre. Rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mid_Life_Trekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
5
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Older style cabin-type accommodation. Spotlessly clean. Comfy beds. Nice doonas. Very handy location. Friendly and helpful owners. They also were happy to accommodate our Maltese dog who always travels with us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Very nice owners, we had 3 adults and 3 children stay in a family unit. Unit was outdated which we knew about, but comfortable. Nice pllows and duvets.There was quite a bit of road noise through the night especially heavy trucks. Children slept well though. Rates very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kune77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Really enjoyed it here! Large rooms next to river! Televisions upto date! Just recently read new fridges and ovens installed!! Good cleaners!! Park like surroundings! Warm!! Enjoyable!! Would highly recommend stay here also do long term also excellent!! Would defnitley stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antzxx2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2012

came across this motel at 11 PM, desperate for a place to stay for the night - and this was such a great find! great vibe in these little cottages, vintage radio, tiles, lots of space, and, uh, a trampoline and swingset in the yard? it's a really unique spot, affordable, and nice folks.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshineSouthAfrica, Manager at Acacia Park Motel, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
Thanks guys great to have guest leave us happy and hope that you'll stop over again on ya way back up to Auckland.
Was great to get your comment for this website.
Hope you also enjoyed your hearty, healthy breakfast.
Regards and safe trip further Sonja and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Myself and three friends stayed three nights at Acacia park and were blown away by the scenery and the helpfullness of the staff at the motel. Nothing was too much trouble. We went to Wanganui for bowls and were very comfortable. We had clean towlels and linen during our stay there. Wine glasses and extra towels were supplied at no hassle. The welcome we received was very joyful and the accommodation suited our needs. For a relaxing weekend, with river walks and close to town,we enjoyed the convenience to the greens-4 minutes and the shops. Congratulations to a well, run ship. The veteran international car rally was onand the motel was busy but everyone was so happy and contented and the accommodation was very adequate for our needs. We did not have any spiders. I think people are too fussy!!!!!!!!!!. We after all were only sleeping there and our TV did not go and it was fixed in a jiffy. I think the other people were at the wrong Motel? Could have had Sky BUT the prices woudl have gone up !!!!!! We were very happy. Were the other people in Dream world
Keep it up and we have booked again for 2013 Viv Hudson Levin

Room Tip: Just let them know what you need and they oblige willingly. I don't know what people are saying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshineSouthAfrica, Manager at Acacia Park Motel, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thanks for your feedback much appreciated ...but then our happy guests don't have to spend their precious time surfing the net to bad mouth establishments, as they tell others verbally which is of much value to us. Unhappy guests make the time or have tooooo much time on their hands to bad mouth establishments on the net for personal reasons & have very high expectations BUT only want to pay very reasonable rates.... also trying to be a jurno or a critic....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We booked this motel based on their own website information which turned out to be far from what we found.The units had potential to be made into acceptable accommodation but the owners of 4 years appeared not to want to upgrade from what our fellow guests described as " Back packer " standard.Their website quoted daily rates of $130 for two and $20 extra person, however on arrival we found the cost was $170 for two and $25 extra person..On checking in we were told we had to pay the full cost and no refunds would be made after 10 minutes.The beds were thin foam mattresses on old saggy bases, the dishes and pots were filthy, the unit was dirty, the shower outlet was blocked with hair. The spa pool was empty and full of dirt, there were only 3 local TV channels, no wireless internet, and very noisy traffic from 5am.We stayed, only because the City motels were fully booked for a large Vintage car rally.. I strongly advise travellers to avoid this Motel at all costs.

Room Tip: Go to the motel two doors up the street, It is less expensive and is about 4 stars better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 930Hillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshineSouthAfrica, Manager at Acacia Park Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Hi and so sorry to hear now that you were unhappy. Trust me if you had brought it to my attention, I would have personally sorted it all out. I took over in March of 2011 and we have done so much already in re-vamping the units, furnishings, linen, gardens etc.
You also don't mention sleeping on Pure White, Clean, 100% percale Cotton Sheets with Duvet (which are also either white or cream) Inners having Duck Down Inners. Pillow slips also being snow white and as clean as. All guests that have been happy staying with us have not commented as "They were Happy As" - only guests having personal issues, sleeping toooooo many firends & family in a unit (because they don't want to pay for another unit) get to put up bad comments as Owners, Managers & Staff try their very best in Hospitality & always go the extra mile and no matter what we do, say or how hard we try to please some....Yip we can't make you happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whanganui hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.5 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#15 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
1.1 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
1.9 mi away
Coachman's Lodge
Coachman's Lodge
#13 of 26 in Whanganui
38 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fiesta Court Motel
Fiesta Court Motel
#3 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Park Motel

Property: Acacia Park Motel
Address: 140 Anzac Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Hotel Class:3 star — Acacia Park Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing