We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but not over flash”
Review of Acacia Park Motel

Acacia Park Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acacia Park Motel
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Very nice owners, we had 3 adults and 3 children stay in a family unit. Unit was outdated which we knew about, but comfortable. Nice pllows and duvets.There was quite a bit of road noise through the night especially heavy trucks. Children slept well though. Rates very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kune77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

Really enjoyed it here! Large rooms next to river! Televisions upto date! Just recently read new fridges and ovens installed!! Good cleaners!! Park like surroundings! Warm!! Enjoyable!! Would highly recommend stay here also do long term also excellent!! Would defnitley stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antzxx2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

came across this motel at 11 PM, desperate for a place to stay for the night - and this was such a great find! great vibe in these little cottages, vintage radio, tiles, lots of space, and, uh, a trampoline and swingset in the yard? it's a really unique spot, affordable, and nice folks.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshineSouthAfrica, Manager at Acacia Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2012

Thanks guys great to have guest leave us happy and hope that you'll stop over again on ya way back up to Auckland.
Was great to get your comment for this website.
Hope you also enjoyed your hearty, healthy breakfast.
Regards and safe trip further Sonja and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Myself and three friends stayed three nights at Acacia park and were blown away by the scenery and the helpfullness of the staff at the motel. Nothing was too much trouble. We went to Wanganui for bowls and were very comfortable. We had clean towlels and linen during our stay there. Wine glasses and extra towels were supplied at no hassle. The welcome we received was very joyful and the accommodation suited our needs. For a relaxing weekend, with river walks and close to town,we enjoyed the convenience to the greens-4 minutes and the shops. Congratulations to a well, run ship. The veteran international car rally was onand the motel was busy but everyone was so happy and contented and the accommodation was very adequate for our needs. We did not have any spiders. I think people are too fussy!!!!!!!!!!. We after all were only sleeping there and our TV did not go and it was fixed in a jiffy. I think the other people were at the wrong Motel? Could have had Sky BUT the prices woudl have gone up !!!!!! We were very happy. Were the other people in Dream world
Keep it up and we have booked again for 2013 Viv Hudson Levin

Room Tip: Just let them know what you need and they oblige willingly. I don't know what people are saying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viv H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshineSouthAfrica, Manager at Acacia Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Thanks for your feedback much appreciated ...but then our happy guests don't have to spend their precious time surfing the net to bad mouth establishments, as they tell others verbally which is of much value to us. Unhappy guests make the time or have tooooo much time on their hands to bad mouth establishments on the net for personal reasons & have very high expectations BUT only want to pay very reasonable rates.... also trying to be a jurno or a critic....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We booked this motel based on their own website information which turned out to be far from what we found.The units had potential to be made into acceptable accommodation but the owners of 4 years appeared not to want to upgrade from what our fellow guests described as " Back packer " standard.Their website quoted daily rates of $130 for two and $20 extra person, however on arrival we found the cost was $170 for two and $25 extra person..On checking in we were told we had to pay the full cost and no refunds would be made after 10 minutes.The beds were thin foam mattresses on old saggy bases, the dishes and pots were filthy, the unit was dirty, the shower outlet was blocked with hair. The spa pool was empty and full of dirt, there were only 3 local TV channels, no wireless internet, and very noisy traffic from 5am.We stayed, only because the City motels were fully booked for a large Vintage car rally.. I strongly advise travellers to avoid this Motel at all costs.

Room Tip: Go to the motel two doors up the street, It is less expensive and is about 4 stars better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 930Hillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshineSouthAfrica, Manager at Acacia Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Hi and so sorry to hear now that you were unhappy. Trust me if you had brought it to my attention, I would have personally sorted it all out. I took over in March of 2011 and we have done so much already in re-vamping the units, furnishings, linen, gardens etc.
You also don't mention sleeping on Pure White, Clean, 100% percale Cotton Sheets with Duvet (which are also either white or cream) Inners having Duck Down Inners. Pillow slips also being snow white and as clean as. All guests that have been happy staying with us have not commented as "They were Happy As" - only guests having personal issues, sleeping toooooo many firends & family in a unit (because they don't want to pay for another unit) get to put up bad comments as Owners, Managers & Staff try their very best in Hospitality & always go the extra mile and no matter what we do, say or how hard we try to please some....Yip we can't make you happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

From arrival until departure we had booked in 6 adults well in advance. The unit was tiny boasting 1 set of bunks, 2 beds pushed together, 1 queen in separate bedroom. Each bed had electric blankets but some couldn't reach the nearest plug. 300mls of milk per day - asked for a 2nd 1 consequently no milk on day 2. Coffee/tea enough for 1 each and only enough cutlery for 4 so that matched the number of chairs. Stove was disgusting. Holes in walls, daily cleaning very poor. Even thought it was a long weekend, rubbish was piled up not far from our unit & in plain site. Hot water lasted until half way through 3rd short shower. The laundry was locked but only had 1 iron anyway. Autumn and the spa was empty. Could go on & on but, to rate this a 3.5 star is an insult to anyones intelligence. Overall if you wanted very cheap backpacker accomodation at inflated prices go here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankguth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshineSouthAfrica, Manager at Acacia Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

Management did inform you of the bed layout plan. You were wanting "As cheap as possible" accommodation and only wanted to pay $30-$35 per person per day. Please be advised that this would be more like a Backpackers rate or Student Group rate.
Should you have paid for another unit and not wanted to go with budget - then your group would most certainly not have been unhappy with your stay.
You have not mentioned at all about the Crisp, Clean & White100% Percale Cotton Linen....this make one's stay/sleep alone "One To Remember"
I trust that you will make contact with management to sort out this matter so that you can change your remarks and also leave our establishment a happy guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed here with family to attend a combined function. Bookings were made by a family member who was organizing things. When we arrived at this motel, I first thought we had the wrong place..... the description of the place ( iphone while my Husband drove) was completely outrageous. Our local primary school can boast more beautiful and well cared for grounds!!! We checked in, and were asked to pay immediatley. The reason for this became obvious when we got to our room - the fridge door was hanging open and not even turned on, the microwave was balanced between the small stove and the bench not even on a shelf).... the place is extremely dated and tired looking. We had resident spiders and cobwebs. No spare toilet rolls. My sister in law booked for 3 couples in a family unit, and found one double bed, a set of bunks and two single beds. Not good enough!! They charge top prices for absolutely substandard facilities. Obviously no money has been spent on this place for years. Would not recommend this place to anyone, in fact will go out of my way to make sure people know not to stay here!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank mrsgunna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshineSouthAfrica, Manager at Acacia Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

All awful/Bad/Avoid Comments have been made from a Guest making a reservation and not wanting to pay more than $30 - $35 per person per night...There's no mention of what the Guest Requested...or of them not wanting to pay for extra units...so as to make their stay more comfortable.
No mentioned either of the Pure White, Crisp & 100% Percale Linen...A WOW factor I would say..
We have also not had any complaints from guests who have stayed 1, 2 , 3 or 4 per unit...It's all been guests wanting the Cheapest way out...so asking if they could all share the unit....
Bed Plan and layout is always stated in our confirmation of Reservation.
Guest are to please make this available to one & all to read.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
1.1 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
328 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burwood Manor Motel
Burwood Manor Motel
#17 of 26 in Whanganui
14 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
1.1 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
185 reviews
1.1 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Park Motel

Address: 140 Anzac Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Hotel Class:3 star — Acacia Park Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Acacia Park Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing